best recording setup for my new 17" powerbook.. please help

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by venture160, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. venture160 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    hey i dont know where to post this, but what would be my best bets for recording with my 17" powerbook. My budget is around 1,500. I need something that is portable and I can setup on stage and record shows. thanks in advance
     
  2. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    I know that Griffen Technology makes something that is used for recording, but I fear that it is too simple for you, given your budget. This is not really my area of expertise, but I noticed that no one had posted yet, and I thought that I would try to point you in a direction, just not sure its the right one.
     
  3. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #3
    Re: best recording setup for my new 17" powerbook.. please help

    1. how many channels of simultaneous recording?
    2. is the budget just for the h/w interface and s/w, or does it include outboard gear like mics, mixer, etc?
    3. what do you plan on doing w/ the tracks, once recorded? simply mix them down, or add keyboards, do overdubs, etc?
     
  4. venture160 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    to answer questions ,

    i will need at the most about 8 inputs to work with to cover live recordings. And I am looking for a complete SOFTWARE and HARDWARE setup... i have looking into a digi002 rack version, motu 828mkII with logic, or the 896hd with logic, are there better combinations? better software programs i should use?
     
  5. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #5
    you've hit upon the big three. i use PTLE w/ a digi002 rack. when doing remote, i use an 800 MHz ibook, with which i can record 8 simultaneous channels while playing back 16, all at 96/24.

    if you're planning on doing a lot of midi, definitely look at Logic.

    have a look at http://www.osxaudio.com/. there're a lot of Logic users there, but all three options are well represented.

    all can do the job and you'd probably be happy w/ any. though i can't personally attest to the simultaneous recording capabilities of Logic and DP.
     
  6. venture160 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    how do you get 8 inputs into the digi 002? i would need something for 2 drum overheads, vocals, bass, guitar, and keys and then horns possibly
     
  7. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #7
    inputs:
    - 4 mic pre's
    - 4 dedicated balanced ins
    - 4 switchable balanced ins (but lose mic pre's)
    - switchable ADAT ins (8) or SPDIF (2)

    w/ my remote kit, i can record 6 simultaneous mics. 4 using the digi pre's, plus 2 from an outboard mic pre (fed into 2 of the digi's balanced ins)

    so you'd need the ability to convert 4 mics to line level signals. you could use a mixer or outboard mic pre's for this.
     
  8. Skilz34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #8
    I was in your same situation a couple months ago.........

    I would get a MOTU 828 or the new 828 mkII.....it is a firewire interface.......the latter of the two has built in midi ports

    Also I would buy Ableton's Live.........

    Get a mic and you are all set, all this is about $800 (with the MOTU 828, used on ebay for about $500) and with the mkII it may run you a couple hundred more.........

    email if you have any questions....skilz34@charter.net
     
  9. ph0rk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Location:
    OK
    #9
    MOTU has not released ner 10.3 drivers for the 828mkii, and it currently does NOT work with panther.

    FYI
     

Share This Page