Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

downhillboy86

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 20, 2006
San Luis Obispo, CA
I'm considering buying a new Mac mini and I was curious what would be the best screen for me. I'm a college student and my computer is my main source for watching DVD's, so what's a well priced 20"+ widescreen monitor? Thanks. Oh and if you have pics of the screens that you have feel free to post 'em.

mrcammy

macrumors member
Sep 17, 2006
Yea, I was looking at the 2007FWP, seems like a lot of people really like it. I was also considering a Samsung that 214T that's the same price. Any thoughts?

I am using the Dell as a second monitor attached to my 24" iMac. The Mac monitor is brighter, whiter, and has less of the screen door effect. But as long as it's not next to a 24" iMac screen, you should be okay. Decent monitor for the price.

Applejuice

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2006
If you hit one of the deal sites, you can find pretty good prices on Dell monitors (20" WS = $350ish). Lately there have also been pretty good deals on 19 - 21 LCDs from places like Costco and BB.

clindner

macrumors regular
Nov 2, 2006
If you have an Office Depot near you, you could look for this model:

Hanns-G HW-191D 19" Widescreen Digital/Analog LCD Monitor

This is $159.99 at their stores through November 4th, if you can find one in stock. The unit has gotten average reviews, but for the price it is fantastic. 1440x900 / 5 ms response time.

It comes with VGA and DVI cables, and a cable for the internal speakers.

I was able to find one at the 3rd store I checked. I haven't used it yet, so I don't know how good it will be...

-Curt

roland.g

macrumors 604
Apr 11, 2005
Well, a 20" or 23" Apple Cinema of course, the 23" being preferential for HD and size.

Of course they are more expensive, but the EDU price on a 23" ACD is $899.