Best Upgrade from 12" G3 Ibook - powerbook 15?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by starfish, Mar 21, 2005.

1. starfish macrumors newbie

hi,

I currently own a 12" Ibook which I use to do webdesign, photoshop work and word processing for Uni. My degree is music based so I require to use lots of power thirsty apps, of course my ibook being only 900mhz G3, 640mb ram doesnt run any music programs, even peak! The webdesign runs ok but I would benefit from larger screen size.

So getting to the point! The ibook is in need of a change and I obviously plan to wait till tiger comes out. Idealy the Powerbook 15 with superdrive with 1gb of ram would be the one I would go for but the only thing thats stopping me is the possibility of the G5 or dual g4 powerbook coming out.

Would the Powerbook 15 hold its value better than say an ibook 14?

Is the powerbook 15 the best one to go for instead of a powerbook 12" with more ram or something?

I have a desktop already but the laptop would get used a lot over the next year or 2.

Should I also wait until september/october this year to buy one, in case they upgrade them again? because I wont need a laptop much over the summer

sorry about my badly structured post!

thanks

mike

2. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

I would recommend the 15 powerbook because of the bigger screen. It's the perfect balance between power and portability. Definately get 1 gig of ram. If it doesn't matter when you get it then don't get it untill you need it. But these powerbooks did just get upgraded and i don't think there will be many more revisions, and if there are, it will just take longer and longer for the next revisions to come out. So i would buy now if i were you, but if it really doesn't matter, then wait untill you need it.

3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

The Powerbook has:
    - Better screen
    - PCCard slot for expansion
    - More RAM capacity
    - FireWire 800 jack
    - easier to upgrade hard drive