Best Value for used Apple System?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Advance The Man, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #1
    I'm waiting for Tiger and I'm a current Windows user. I want to get my feet wet while waiting. Which system is the best for low usage? I would like a low-cost, used system for the living room. Would want wireless internet capability. Although I use Word and Excel, for this system I would use Apple's word processor and spreadsheet that would come with the system. DVD is not necessary and I don't care if it's a laptop, iMac, eMac, etc. Recommendations?
     
  2. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #2
    Depends on what you want to run on it, and whether you have existing monitor(s) you could use, how much space available, etc.

    You can get a used iMac G3 for $200-$300. But, it will be slow, and not run Panther very well.

    You can get a used Blue & White G3 tower for $300 or so, and put SD-RAM in it. With enough RAM, it will run Panther, and even Tiger, respectably.

    You might find a used Cube for $400 or so. It'll look nice in the living room.

    It's hard to beat the value proposition of the Mini, but then, you get what you get, it's not very expandable.

    For $100 or less, you can find a 9500 or similar machine and run Mac OS 9. You'll have to scrounge up monitor adaptors, ADB keyboard/mouse, maybe an AAUI transceiver.
     
  3. auxplage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #3
    I would just get the Mini. If you are spending $200 to $300 on an iMac G3, then to me that is a waste because for only a little bit more you get a machine that will make your experience much more enjoyable. :)
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    I bought this system for $200 (see siggy) and its been the best system ever - well except for the Dual G5's I've used at school - that I have bought. It doesn't have firewire or usb 2.0, but usb 1.1 runs at 12MB/S I'm happy with it. The other problem is the ATA0 hard drive (I think that runs at 5MB/S or 20MB/S) - but an older mac would suit you well.
     
  5. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #5
    hey ive seen him post in these forums, but could you post a link to his "store" or whatever he uses to sell? that would be appreciated.
     
  6. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #6
    I need the internet wirelessly, does pre-G4 take airport?
     
  7. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #7
    I actually just bought a bondi blue imac for $35 and it's great for just web a word, which is all my sis uses it for.
     
  8. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #8
    I don't sell, I actually buy off the forums. I also check other stores on the internet like these ones:
    http://www.dvwarehouse.com
    http://www.techrestore.com
    http://www.baucomcomputers.com
    http://www.apple.com/store - their Certified Section (the red Save icon down about 3/4 of the page)
    http://www.megamacs.com
    http://www.macofalltrades.com
    http://www.dealmac.com - On the left side there is a link to systems, it shows systems that have been submited as having good prices the past 30 days.

    But never buy from this store: http://www.powermax.com because their prices are $200 higher for older items than those other sites. Example: you can buy a 233MHz 32MB RAM iMac w/ 2GB HDD for about $60 now, but on there, they sell them (at a minimum price mind you) for $259.69 or something like that. They rip you off so bad.


    The G3's should take the Airport, I see no reason why they wouldn't. Actually there are companies out there that will put them into the older powerbooks for you, e.g. G3 Lombards, G3 Wallstreets, G3 Pismos, etc. So I'm pretty sure they will work. Look at the spec. requirements for an Airport on Apple's site.

    EDIT: http://www.apple.com/airportextreme/specs.html it says nothing about having a Gx computer, but it does require OS X for things, so AFAIK (as far as I know) you can't use OS 9 with it. It will work for G3.
     
  9. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #9
    I would get the mini. Especially if you are coming form PC you probably have an old monitor keyboard and mouse lying around.
     
  10. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    Powermac G4. My 400 screams with Panther. The G4 processor still packs one hell of a punch.

    Though, if you want a G5, you may wanna check out eBay, where I have seen used 1.6 SP G5s dip under 1,000 or so.
     

Share This Page