best video editing setup

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by spencerwatts, Mar 14, 2007.

1. spencerwatts macrumors newbie

I'm an aspiring indie filmmaker, and I've been editing with a crappy camera and windows XP for the past few years, and I feel like I need something a step up from what I've got. I've always been a big fan of Apple, and I decided that I'd love to be able to use FCP to edit my shorts.

Basically, I need help (in the form of suggestions) choosing what computer would be best for my needs. I plan to start out on FCE, and later, if I feel the need, upgrade to FCP.

I've been looking online, and I've considered the following options (none over 2k):

A brand new macbook pro. $2k. Way too expensive.

Used Powermac g5. Around $1.2k (Plus cost of monitor. :( )

Used iMac g5, around $1k.

My budget is:
    computer - not over $1.5k
    camera - same.

Of course, I hope there are more options (and hopefully less expensive) than this, which is why I some steering in the correct direction.

And, I'm not the richest of people. I'm still in high school. However, my parents offered to pay for half of the computer (and video camera. I still have to decide on that, as well. Any tips/pointers/suggestions?) which was extremely nice of them. Thanks for your help.

2. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

Texas04

I would buy a 17" iMac to start out with. 250GB of HD space should do you for a little while. If you do indeed need more later on an external HD would suit you just fine.

As far as a camera.. for your needs.. a Cannon GL2 might work out okay.

3. spencerwatts thread starter macrumors newbie

I was thinking about a gl2, it looks like my best option. And the iMac looks nice - and like the option that I'm looking for. I never really considered it too seriously. thanks.

4. Multimedia macrumors 603

Multimedia

BEST? Or With Only $3k or is it $6k?