Best way to do a Clean Snow Leopard Install?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 2012Tony2012, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #1
    I am about to do a factory default clean install of Snow Leopard. What's the best way to do this? Install the DVD when in Leopard? Will the DVD then reboot on its own?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg MB
    #2
    Backup your data, reboot holding the option/alt button, and select the disk to boot from. The open disk utility and wipe the partition. Then let it install SL fresh :)
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
  4. macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #4
    All the good old days when if you wanted to do a reinstall you just inserted a dvd or usb stick and where done in about 20 min...now we get the fun of waiting for 4+ gig's of data to download every time we wanna do same thing....ah progress ;-(
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #5
    I thought I just had to hold Option button to select what to boot from, but I must hold Option + ALT?

    ----------

    Don't tell me that?!:eek:

    When I do this install Snow Leopard needs to download 4+ GB of data?:(
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    OPTION=Alt
    And read the guides I linked to, they are very short and informative and not linked to out of spite.
    No, since all the data is on the DVD, and tom vilsack was talking about Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, though one can circumvent that: Make An OS X Lion Boot Disc
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #7
    Thank you :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #8
    I followed the link above and selected Utilities menu to erase hard drive, but which one I choose? The one that says "250 GB WDC WD250" or the one under it as a sub menu that says "Macintosh HD"?
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Macintosh HD.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #10
    I found a video and the guy says NOT to select the second part but the upper first one. So which one is it?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eazd4AB1fXw

    Is he wrong?:eek:
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    You can select what you want, if you only have one partition. The upper part is the actual HDD or SSD, the lower part is the actual partition. If you select the upper part, you go to the Partition tab as outlined in the following non-video guide:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #12
    I selected the upper part and its wiping with zeros atm.

    When it's finished and I continue, won't SL automatically create the partition for me?
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    Why the wiping with ZEROS? It is unnecessary and adds time. Anyway, once the zeroing out is completed, it should be properly formatted if you followed the guide I linked to. I have done this countless times (100s and more), without ever zeroing out data.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #14
    So why do Apple include zero formatting if it was never needed? :eek:

    The kids have played a lot with our iMac and I was worried that they made have downloaded stuff they shouldn't etc.

    ----------

    I noticed the guy on the video didn't show him creating a new partition for some reason.

    I named the main hard drive as "Macintosh HD" so what do I name the partition?
     
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    I did not say it was never needed, it is not needed, if the HDD stays with you. If you wanted to sell your Mac and leave the HDD inside, ZEROING OUT is a way to prevent future data recovery on that HDD if the new owner decides to try.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #16
    But my iMac has an 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, so should I select the GUID Partition Table and not the "Apple Partition Map" like your screenshot page recommends? :eek:
     
  17. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #17
    You named the partition, and it does not matter how you name it.

    ----------

    My guide recommends GUID for your case.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #18
    Thank you for your patience, I am brand new to iMac and I feel kinda lost and confused often, sorry.:(
     
  19. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #19
    It's also a way of checking for bad sectors. If you're doing a clean install, you can just use the combo update to get the last version of Snow Leopard.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #20
    So doing a zero format checks for bad sectors too?

    ----------

    The zero erase finished and it created the partition automatically and named it "Macintosh HD" :D

    Installing Snow Leopard now... says about 30 minutes. Time for a tea ;)
     
  21. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #21
    Yes. It doesn't mean it will keep a failing hard drive from failing, but it does check for bad blocks so as to remap them.

    After that I'd use the combo update rather than individual ones.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #22
    Whats the combo update and where do I find that in Snow Leopard? :eek:
     
  23. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #23
    It's on the Apple site. Use the link once the installation finishes.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #24
    Ok thank you. downloaded then 1.18GB combo update now.

    And Install completed. It says I can install Xcode and Optional Installs, should I?:eek:
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lucky Country
    #25
    That's the part where you get to do a 4G download from Apple Software Update. :)

    ----------

    Heck, you guys are quick! :)
     

Share This Page