Best way to get iMac slot loading on Airport network? Help!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by craiginbminor, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. craiginbminor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #1
    Hey,

    I'm new to these forums, but I have a question that I cannot figure out on my own; first, I'll let you know my setup - I have an Airport Extreme hooked up to DSL, and an eMac (running Panther) that is plugged directly into the Airport's ethernet port (there is also a printer plugged into the Airport's usb). I am able to use my Powerbook G4 (with Airport extreme) and the eMac perfectly with the network. The problem, however, is that I have a third computer (the first Mac I ever got) - an iMac slot loading indigo with upgraded RAM and OS X 10.1, that I want to get networked to the Airport. The iMac is downstairs, so I can't use a cable. Also, I don't want to move anything; I'm very happy with my current setup now, however I just want a way to get my iMac wireless on the airport. I've had a couple ideas - first, getting the Belkin Wireless G usb stick from Walmart (with no success, so I returned it), second, getting an original Airport card and adapter off of eBay, and third, getting some type of USB internet stick like the Belkin off of MacWireless.com (apparently they have good reviews AND are universal plug-and-play with all Mac OS's), however, I'm trying to figure out the best option. Please help me!

    Thanks a lot,

    Craig
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Wireless USB dongles are notoriously bad on Macs and I avoid them as much as I can. Even if they work when you first get them, system upgrades can have them causing kernel panics in no time. :eek:

    I reckon you should weigh up the costs of either getting that AirPort card (original, not Extreme) from eBay or getting a second hand AirPort (Express would be good) to be used with an ethernet cable. The advantage of this second setup is that you can use WDS to extend your range too. :)
     
  3. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Or, you could get a wireless ethernet adapter, commonly used for wirelessly connecting Xbox's, etc.
     
  4. craiginbminor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #4
    Thank you guys for your help! Those are very good suggestions -- two questions, though:

    1. Would I be able to use an original Airport card on my iMac with my Airport Extreme base station?

    2. I found this Belkin Wireless G Gaming Adapter, is this what you're referring to? And, can this be used on a Mac without drivers?

    Thanks very much for your help.
     
  5. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    It should work fine. Ive not used one myself, but from what I understand, the Mac will just think its being wired into the network, so it wont even know its wireless.

    The description in the link you posted does mention that no drivers are required.
     
  6. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #6
    'gaming adapter' or 'bridge' are the key words you need. they are a wireless adapter that has a ethernet port. the mac thinks it's it connected via ethernet as it has no knowledge or need to know about the wireless connect on the other side. works great. depends on the make/model, but if you get one that will allow it, assign the wireless part a static ip. then you can plug it into the slot load. presto, network! best of luck.
     
  7. craiginbminor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #7
    Ok, great. Right now, I'm debating between getting the bridge, or getting a new airport base station (that I could plug the iMac into). Which would you recommend?
     
  8. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #8
    I think 10.1 might be the problem - D-link ones worked fine for 10.2-10.3 but they weren't updated for Tiger.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Both the bridge and the AirPort should be relatively easy to get working. The AirPort will be more expensive but it will extend your network and depending on the type of AirPort you get, might give you access to AirTunes and a USB network printer. :)
     
  10. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #10
    Airport Express from the refurb store is $100.
     
  11. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #11
    Get an original Airport card with adapter if you can find one. Just make sure your iMac supports it. There was a single indigo model (350mhz I believe) that does NOT have an airport slot. All other slot loading models support original airport cards, and will work with your Airport Extreme base station just fine.
     

Share This Page