BF2 won't start on MacBook.

Discussion in 'Games' started by Tymmz, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. Tymmz macrumors 65816

    Tymmz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #1
    I'm at a friends MacBook (2 GHz, C2D, 1 GB RAM) and was curious if BF2 would run. I downloaded the demo and installed it in "Win-Boot-Camp". When I try to start the demo the screen goes dark for a milisecond and then back to the desktop.

    More or less it just doesn't want to start. Why?


    thx.
     
  2. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #2
    it does that with everybody w/ a macbook. macbooks just can't handle those kinds of games :(
     
  3. Tymmz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tymmz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #3
    ok.

    thx
     
  4. Mac'Mo macrumors 6502a

    Mac'Mo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    is BF2 PC/Mac compatible? could just run it under boot camp.
     
  5. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
  6. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #6
    what kind of laptop do you have. macbooks (NOT PRO) cant run BF2 and other games with that advanced graphics.
     
  7. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #7
    Macbooks like to play too!

    No all advanced games fail on a MB. I have a MB CD 2.0 with 2GB RAM and LOTR BFME and Company of Heroes both run well (of course with lower graphics settings) and a quite playable with my children and grandchildren.

    CoH worked even though the GMA950 is not officially supported.

    BF2 and BF2142 seem to actually check for and refuse to load any card not explicitly supported.
     
  8. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    Yes. I have a macbook with 512! megs of ram. :D

    EDIT:
    WAIT! Battlefield of Battlefront 2? Which are you talking about? B/c I was talking about battlefront.
     
  9. nylock10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #9
    I had this happen on my PC, I just had to reinstall the video card drivers.

    Battlefield 2 isn't compatible with Mac, although I think the Havok engine that the game runs off of is Mac-compatible now, no hope for a Mac version... I wish!
     

Share This Page