Big problems with Tiger (hopefully)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Elbeano, May 12, 2005.

1. Elbeano macrumors regular

I usually only read stuff here, so I'm hoping I'm not putting this in the wrong place.

Short story. I get tiger yesterday, do an update (not archive and install or a fresh install since I wasn’t really familiar with the difference since I’m fairly new to mac. I subsequently had it explained to me by a more mac-savvy friend). First little problem came from iTunes being a little glitchy last night. Now… today, I get home from work, and the hard drive is sounding a little funky. Everything seems fine, but a little choppy.

The big problem came while I had safari open, iTunes playing, and I was using iChat. I went to do something in iTunes, and it wouldn’t respond. I tried right clicking the icon in the dock, and the dock froze. Tried open apple alt-option escape, and nothing. After 10 minutes, I did a hard restart. It took 15 minutes to restart. I restarted it again, that’s an old windows trick where problems would just mysteriously go away if you restarted directly after a restart. It worked once on my mac before, so I figured I’d give it a go. No dice, another 15 minutes. Now, I’m getting annoyed. After hearing my friend talk about the archive and install, I thought maybe I should give that a go, so I’d have a nice fresh OS on my machine, and just be out 4.5 gig.

I start the reinstallation process, and it stops for a good half an hour on “verifying disk”. Never went any further. I try a hard restart again, and now it won’t boot. It’s stuck on what I have no come to call the “gray apple screen of death, with the spinning timer thing”. It’s been stuck there while I’ve been typing this.

What do you guys think?

oh, by the way, my one year warranty has been up for about 2 weeks, and I would have had to buy apple care already if I had wanted it... that ship has sailed. I'm also stuck on a PC for the time being... blech