Big wireless problem...help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ricgnzlzcr, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #1
    Hi. I have a 1.33 12 inch powerbook that I love to death. It runs great, but whenever I try to burn a video DVD on roxio toast. It takes almost an entire day to encode and when it finishes, it says I have an error 50. I’m not as worried about that, but after I did this, my airport connection got very dodgy. It would only work if I was very up close to the wireless router. This has happened to me once before. After using the same program, I began to have less airport connection and then my computer got slower until it finally wouldn’t boot into the OS. Apple repaired it because it seemed to have a failed harddrive. I thought my problems would be over but now it seems that they are about to start again and I am scared that I will lose my hard drive again. What should I do?

    The airport works perfect a couple feet from the router, but when I get about 10 feet away it completely dissapears. Can anyone help please?
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    Well I don't think a hard drive problem has effect on a airport strength. I would definitely keep your stuff backed up though just in case the hard drive does go on you. Problems with strength could be related to not updating your software. Mac OS X.4-X.4.1 has Airport strength problems that OS X.4.2 fixes. A pinched airport wireless cable could also effect your strength. Maybe when you were opening or closing the lid a cable got pinched. Its happened before.

    However, the problem with the HD would have an effect on how encoding a video and burning it. If its slow, then you could have a problem, but like I said, that shouldn't have an effect on how good your strength is of your wireless connection.
     
  3. ricgnzlzcr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #3
    Well I have update all the software as much as possible and I still get a signal when I'm very close to the router. Has anyone had problems where they can only get a signal when theyre just a few feet from the router?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. ricgnzlzcr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #5
    I was using Tiger 1.4.2. but now it works. I disconnected my router and took off all the power. I waited a minute then hooked back up and now I'm two floors above using wireless. Thanks all.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  7. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
  8. ricgnzlzcr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #8
    Well Toast just wouldn't burn the DVD after it encoded, but it did burn all my music and files into a data DVD so I don't really mind. I have a 1.33 powerbook 12 inch with 768 megs of ram.
     

Share This Page