BIOS set-up on MacBook pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by cdpilkington, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    #1
    I don't suppose any clever person knows if it's possible to access the BIOS setup screen on windows XP? I've been told it usually comes about by pressing/holding the "delete" key whilst windows is loading. However, I can't seem to get it to appear on the Macbook pro whilst I load. I need to disable hyperthreading in the BIOS to get something to work, and this seems to be the way to do it.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    There is no BIOS on Macs.

     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    Macs use Intel's Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) to perform the same job as a BIOS. Intel have been trying to introduce this for years, but thanks to Microsoft dragging their feet, were unable to put it into any production units until Apple switched onto their processors. Therefore there is no BIOS screen on a Mac, as they don't have a BIOS.

    Also, the Core Duo processor in the MacBook Pro does not use Hyperthreading, since HT is a method for a single core CPU to emulate a dual core one. You need to find a Windows app that will permit you to turn off the second processor core like you can in OSX.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #4
    Edit your Boot.ini to include the option to disable HyperThreading. You don't need a BIOS.

    "/ONECPU" or "/numcpu=1" will accomplish this.
     
  5. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    I believe that should be "/numproc=1", http://support.microsoft.com/kb/170756/

    Good tip!

    B
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    #6
    Excellent, fixing the boot.ini file worked a treat. Thanks again! :)
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #7
    pls hel!

    hello! how disable the memory options on the bios set up of macbook in order for me to install a dual boot with windows. it says that i need to disable memory options ie: caching and or shadowing. :(
     

Share This Page