Bit torrent and terminal help!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by IBSNOWEDIN, Jul 15, 2004.

  1. IBSNOWEDIN macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to get the tracker to work from the site http://24.104.25.130:2938/index.html (Mac Torrents Kick Ass), the steps are:


    1. Open the terminal
    2. Type "sudo pico /etc/hosts" (with out the "quotes")
    3. Type your password (The password to your computer's login! - Not MTKA's login password)
    4. In pico hold the down key arrow till you reach the end of the file
    5. Hit the return key a few times
    6. Paste this EXACTLY excluding the equals signs
    ================
    #Temp TKA
    24.104.25.130 temptka
    ================
    7. Hold the control key (ctrl) and tap o (not zero, O as in OUT)
    8. Hit return to confirm the write out
    9. Hold the control key (crtl) again and tap x to exit
    10. Quit the terminal since we are done with it
    11. Open Safari
    12. Type: "http://temptka/"
    13. Make certain that you receive a message like
    ==================================
    Yep, looks like you're configured and ready to go. . .
    ==================================
    14. Then go to
    http://temptka:2938/
    15. Enjoy!


    But i'm getting a commend not found when i do step 2. I'm running 10.3.4

    Thanks
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    When you type in the "sudo pico /etc/hosts" (without quotes of course) do you get a field to enter your password?

    If not: you did not install the BSD subsystem when you installed OS X. You will need to install it in order to use the pico command.
     
  3. IBSNOWEDIN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #4
    I do get enter password then after i enter it i get command not found, their is no "#" sign with every entry it is something like -bash-2.05b$ what is that?

    Thanks
     
  4. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    Try this: type "which pico" (without the "quotes") at the Terminal; if you get "/usr/bin/pico" as the output, then pico is present. If you get "no pico in /bin /sbin /usr/bin /usr/sbin" as the output, then pico is missing.
     
  6. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #7
    hey, thanks, I could never get the terminal way to work.
     
  7. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #8
    Does it seem to be down for u guys? cuz its not working here
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    Well, I was able to access the site without making the change to the terminal - all I got was a message saying that I wasn't authorized to view this page and that I needed to register or login to continue.
     
  9. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #10
    you still need to edit your hosts file even if you use http://24.104.25.130:2938/ TMK
    but if that works for you, then it works for you...

    yes, they seem to be having issues with staying online lately... it's been getting very crowded...

    reality
     
  10. IBSNOWEDIN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #11
    When i go "Which pico" i'm getting

    -bash-2.05b$ which pico
    -bash: which: command not found
    -bash-2.05b$

    no clue what is up with my terminal going to try it on my PB to see if anything works

    Thanks for the help!

    EDIT: didn't work my PB too which is running 10.3.4 , also this is what i get when i put in sudo pico /etc/hosts

    "-bash-2.05b$ sudo pico /etc/hosts
    Password:
    sudo: pico: command not found
    -bash-2.05b$"

    Also i can connect to the site but it says that i need to do this to connect to the tracking to download.


    here is where i got the info to do the tracker:

    http://forums.torrentskickass.com/macboard/viewtopic.php?t=16729

    Thanks
     
  11. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    Sounds to me like your $PATH environment variable's messed up. That would explain why you're getting command not found errors. Try this: type "/usr/bin/which pico" (without the "quotes") to see if a $PATH problem is to blame. If you get "/usr/bin/which: command not found", something else is messed up. If you get output from which, like in my previous post, then you've got a bad $PATH.
     
  12. IBSNOWEDIN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #13
    i did what u say and i got

    "-bash-2.05b$ /usr/bin/which pico
    -bash: /usr/bin/which: No such file or directory
    -bash-2.05b$"

    so what does that mean?
     
  13. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #14
    Something's seriously messed up with the BSD subsystem in your copy of Mac OS X. You might want to try reinstalling it by putting the Panther CD/DVD in your drive, looking for the BSD package, and running it.
     
  14. AssassinOfGates macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    A cardboard box.
    #15
    Alternate method

    If you have BBEdit, you can just open the hosts file. the path is /etc/hosts.

    Then just make the change and save with your admin password.

    Now I wonder why everyone wants on TKA... :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page