Bittorrent download times

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by winwintoo, Dec 18, 2004.

1. winwintoo macrumors 6502

Don't know if this is the right place for this, but feel free to move it.

I'm new to bittorrent - in fact, I didn't realized that's what I was getting in to. I came across a site that claimed to offer movies for download for a monthly subscription - I know, maybe I've spent too much time sampling the egg nog - anyway, got it all set up, started to download a movie and it says it's gonna take 273 hours It didn't take them that long to MAKE the movie in the first place :mad: :mad:

I'm on DSL which is usually pretty swift - I don't keep track of the actual speed, because it's always fast enough that speed isn't something I worry about.

Is this normal for bittorrent files?

BTW, how does BT work or what is it? Is it a form of P2P?

Should have asked before I got involved I guess.

Margaret

2. Daveway macrumors 68040

Daveway

get your torrents from: suprnova.org

It is based on "seeds". Different users that have that specific file will donate a chunk of that file to you until you have a full duplicate. Download times will vary. I've had some that took 3mins and some that took a week. It just depends how many seeds are out there and the bandwidth. Just because you have DSL doesnt mean your bittorrents are going to donload at 3mbits.
    Some will say its illegal. I dont think so. Bittorrent provides a service for the end user to do what he wants and if he breaks the law its his problem not the creator of bittorrent. Its like if you have a Ford truck and you get a speeding violation. Is it Ford's fault. NOPE.

I love BT. I have a 600mb file goin now.

3. OryHara macrumors regular

it all depends on how large the file is and what kind of down speed your getting. if its a 4 GB file and your getting like 12kbs, its gona take a while.