Bittorrent Problems - Help Needed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Chris14, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. Chris14 macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #1
    I am having extreme trouble trying to download files using the free bittorrent client Transmission. I am trying to download the Civilization IV Demo via the bittorrent link at MacGameFiles.com and it has never managed to exceed 6kbs. I am on broadband in New Zealand and downloaded via http usually yields speeds of 100kbs+.

    I was under the conception that Bittorrent was meant to be faster than http or ftp downloading, but I have yet to see results.

    Could this be to do with what time I download at?

    I have been trying all evening NZ time, which is about midday onwards LA time. Should I try later on (eg early morning here in NZ, evening in LA)

    My machine is in my sig, (I know, Civ IV won't run on it, I am downloading it for a different comp).

    Help would be appreciated!
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You probably need to open the ports in your router or whatever.
     
  3. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #3
    there is definetely a FAQ on the tracker you dled your torrent from, should answer all your questions.

    but, yes, its probably port forwarding issues.
     
  4. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
  5. Chris14 thread starter macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #5
    Thanks

    Thanks very much guys... will try the above link
     
  6. Chris14 thread starter macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #6
    Not sure what to do!

    The instructions listed at the Transmission forum are indeed intended for US routers. I don't really know what to do as my router is quite different and not listed at the link on the forum.

    Attached Pic- is this the right part in which to access port mapping?

    Help will be greatly appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #7
    I cant really help you out myself, as its all a bit beyond me I just followed the guide (i Have airport) and it worked. Im sure I saw a generic guide in there somewhere. Have a snoop around the link again and just check.
     

Share This Page