OS X Black Ops Mac on ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AppleDev879, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #1
    I initially planned to purchase Black Ops for Mac from the Mac App Store for my late 2009 iMac. I was thinking I'd then buy GameCompanion and connect an Xbox 360 controller to my computer, effectively making it an Xbox. Unfortunately, I just checked the machine's specs, only to find that I have 256 MB of video RAM instead of the recommended 512 MB.

    The exact card is the ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB. If I did purchase the game, would I notice a severe amount of dropped frames, making gameplay really frustrating? If so, are there quality settings in the game I could turn down? Also, could the use of a wireless controller create additional lag? Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #2
    I have the same video card and had a free weekend for BO on Windows a while ago and it ran perfectly fine on high/medium with 40-60+ fps at 1080p. Not sure how it'd be on OS X though, as games usually don't run as well as in Windows.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #3
    Yeah, strangely enough the PC version only requires 256 MB of video RAM, but the Mac version requires 512 MB. Do you think I could run the PC version off Parallels with better results?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #5
    Well shall I just consider myself out of luck, or do you think the gameplay would be smooth enough?
     
  6. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    Turn everything to lowest possible, then move up step by step to try and balance graphics quality and performance.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #7
     
  8. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    Sorry, misread your post ;;

    You could search for videos on Youtube, etc on how a particular game runs on a particular Mac, I did that when I was in doubt about UT3.

    I'd tell you how it runs on my, admittedly, newer iMac, but the game requires 10.8 for some reason o_O
     

Share This Page