OS X Black Ops on 2010 15 Inch MBP?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by marc11, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #1
    Anyone playing this on a 2010 15" MBP with the GT330 card? I know its not supported, but wondering how well it works at lower settings. I am playing COD4 and it works great, but of course my card is supported officially.

    Any insight before I buy would be really appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I played the entire campain 3 times. In Bootcamp thought.
    Works great. I have the high res screen so i reduced the res to 1440x852 and have textures on high. Very smooth.

    I also just finished the Black Ops 2 campain with 1280x800 and textures on ultra :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #3
    I have the hi res too, but I really do not want to spend the time and money on boot camp just for this game to be honest. So wondering how it runs native.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    The GT330M has two versions a 256MB and a 512MB.
    I'm pretty sure the 256MB won't run this well, as I'm pretty sure this means many textures has to be stored in RAM compared to VRAM.

    The 512MB might run ok, but as Aspyr recommends a GT650M for I might think you are out of luck.

    These are just educated guesses, tho.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #5
    I have the 512mb version, it comes with the hi res screen, but I too think it may run poorly. Just wondering if anyone took the plunge and tried it. I am not a hardcore gamer, so if I had to lower the quality a bit I really wouldn't care so long as the game was smooth. No frame drops.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Black Ops will run much worse natively then it will under bootcamp.
    I think it will run fine, just how Call of Duty 2 and 4 run fine under OSX aswell.
    Once you have it you would need to play with the setting a little and find out. I don't think you should have any frame drops when your are not running at max res (so 1440x852 or 1280x800, I play most games at 1280x800, still looks good and I can pump up the textures) and like medium settings.

    Alternatively wait until people here get the game and post about it and their experiences on whatever system they have, could give you a more accurate representation of how you can expect it to run on your system.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #7
    Thanks, appreciate the insight. If it plays as well as COD4, even at a slightly lower res I would be fine with that.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #8
    On my 17" mid 2010 Macbook Pro (GT 330m 512MB) the game runs quite well, despite the incompatibility warning.

    However, Black Ops stutter a bit here and there, but since Mountain Lion that started happening in other games, too. Nothing serious though, totally playable;)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #9
    Thanks. I have the same set up except screen size so I think I'm just going to buy it and give it a go.
     

Share This Page