Blacklisted iPhone 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by maccedydaddy, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi bromigos. How can you tell for sure if your iPhone 4 is IMEI blacklisted? I have a weird feeling mine just might be, but I don't know how to get this verified.

    And if this is the case, are there any solutions?

    PS. I bought the phone from some random guy.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    Contact the carrier. They can tell you if it is and why.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #3
    I'm not 100 % certain who the carrier is. I've tried two sited who supposedly tells you if it is, but I am uncertain of the validity of these. One of them was from Apple, the other one I can't remember. No other way?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #4
    Call your provider, explain the situation of how you came into possession of the iPhone and ask them if they can check the database to see if the iPhone shows up (they'll need the IMEI number)

    In the UK all carriers share the same database so they should be able to tell you
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Where are you?
    If you are in the states-
    if it has a sim card slot on the right hand side of the phone- AT & T
    No sim card slot- Verizon

    although it probably is verizon because
    a) they don't use sim cards so you can report the IMEI
    b) they are the main CDMA iPhone seller in the states.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Random guy sales aren't what they used to be.
     
  7. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    If you stick a valid sim you will know if it's blacklisted.
    It will say no service or have no signal at all.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #8
    Thanks for the answers. I am in France and the carrier was supposed to be Orange (which worked for activating the phone). If it worked for the activation, does this necessarily means this is the carrier, and thus if it gets no signal, that it's blacklisted?
     
  9. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    Yes or it has hardware issues
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #10
    The activation doesn't go through the network. It goes to the Apple servers to check the correct SIM is inserted doesn't it?
     

Share This Page