Blinking screen and no dock

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by alively5, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #1
    I upgraded to ML last week and have had no problems what so ever until just today. When I turned on my early 2011 MBP I get a screen that alternates between my background and a gray screen and the dock will not load. While in ML I have tried relaunching finder, but other than that I can't really access anything. I restarted the entire machine and got the same thing.

    Any help will be greatly appriciated.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    GerritV

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #2
    My ML Dock app is a PITA as well. I often have to launch Terminal to "killall Dock". Sounds like you can't even launch an app?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #3
    The only app I can get up is the mail app, but that is only because it is set to open at login. When it's open I can't even minimize or close the window.

    I'll try to see if I can get the terminal up then do killall dock, but I'm still confused as to what would be causing the screen to flash. When I enter recovery in ML by doing cmd + R it looks just fine, which kinda makes me think it's a software issue and nothing video card or other hardware related, but I don't know.

    Thanks.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #4
    reboot holding option, select the recovery drive. when you get there, open disk utility, run first aid...see what happens.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #5
    I ran first aid and it said "The volume Macintosh HD appears to be OK."
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
  8. macrumors 6502a

    GerritV

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #8
    What a mess indeed - hope you'll get things working again!
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #9
    I have boot camp with Windows 7 on it though, and that works perfectly fine when I load that up. It is however on a different hard drive than the one that ML is installed on.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #10
    looks like hardware issue (or drugs...) :D

    good luck, def get to apple!
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #11
    Got it working again.

    If anyone was wondering I managed to get it working again. I let it sit for a bit and it started working in ML, very slowly, but it was working. Then it started doing it's thing again, so I reformatted the HD and did a clean install of Lion on it. Everything is working perfect again.

    I think it will be a while before I try to put ML back on.

    Thank you again for all the replies earlier.
     

Share This Page