Blu-Ray ISO to MP4

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Ender17, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #1
    Hi, what's the best way to convert from a Blu-Ray ISO to MP4? I'm actually using Windows 7, but was hoping someone from this forum could help.
    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors regular

    a2applegirl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #2
    Handbrake will do it, but make sure you check the large file size option. Regular MP4s cannot be larger than 4gb and bluerays will compress to more than that.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #3
    Not always. I have a few Bluray encodes at 720p using constant quality at RF20 that are less than 4GB in size. The last Harry Potter movie is one that stands out to me as the 720p encode ended up smaller than the 480p Digital Copy included by the studio.

    That said, most devices can deal with 64-bit MP4 files nowadays, so I'd just leave "Large File Size" checked just in case.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    As far as I know Handbrake wont open an ISO.

    Best bet is to mount the ISO using DEAMON tools lite or Virtual Clone Disk then use MakeMKV to extract the main movie to a mkv file then use Handbrake to convert the mkv to an mp4.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    a2applegirl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #5
    I use the 64 bit version of handbrake and it works with isos just fine, if it is already on the harddrive as an iso. As roidy says, MakeMKV can extract from the actual disk if you are ripping from the disk and need to extract, etc..
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    As long as the ISO contains a format hb can read ... hb can open right from the ISO. Afaik HB has read dvd iso's since almost the beginning.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    Us poor Windows users don't get a 64bit version or the ability to open ISO's directly:(

    edit:- Handbrake wont open any of my ISO's made with AnyDVD.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #8
    Scratch that, just tried one of the new nightly's and it works fine. Just out of interest does it handle Blu-ray ISO's?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    a2applegirl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #9
    Yes I have encoded some blu-ray iso's in handbrake, but they were already ripped to the harddrive as an image. Being such a mac person, I don't even have a blue ray player, but being a real movie buff I have bought a few titles in blueray and borrowed a windows laptop to rip the iso image to disk. :D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #10
    Thanks, all we need now is for Handbrake to support PGS sup subtitles and the whole process would be perfect:D
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #11
    I have HandBrake 0.94 and under source it only has options for video file, DVD folder and DVD drive. :confused:
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    Use the video file option to load the ISO. Also get one of the new nightly versions of Handbrake, much faster and better quality than 0.9.4

    http://build.handbrake.fr/
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #13
    HandBrake does not currently understand the Bluray disc structure, so you'll have to know which file contains the feature movie. This is further complicated by the fact that movies can be split between multiple files (although this appears to becoming a rarer occurrence). This also means that you won't have subtitles (which can be an issue for a few discs that use subtitle tracks for forced subtitles), or chapters.

    I suspect the necessary support will eventually be added to Handbrake, but the developers have other commitments that take a lot of their "free" time. Here are a couple threads on the Handbrake forums that deal with encoding from Bluray/HDDVD and the forced subtitle issue.

    http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9258
    http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16784
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #14
    I'll check it out. Ripbot seems to work pretty well if anyone is looking for another option.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #15
    Yep Ripbot does work well, but it's very slow.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #16
    ISO to mp4 with Handbrake

    Used Handbrake and tried to load in an ISO but I got an unreconizable format message. Got this on several Bluray ISOs.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #17
    Depends on how the BluRay was ripped. It has to be decrypted during the rip. HB won't do that. Then you have to mount the ISO. One it is mounted as a virtual BluRay, HB can read it. Windows 7 requires software for this.
     

Share This Page