Blue screen at OS load, after installing official patch.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Grodel, May 28, 2006.

  1. Grodel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    I have a Intel iMac 20".

    I just installed a bunch of software updates yesterday... all from the apple updater.
    So after update I chose shut down and went to bed.

    This morning when I tried to boot, Mac OS stopped loading and all I get is a blue screen.

    Does anyone now how to fix this issue?
    I wante to call Apples support, but they are closed today and I really need to get into Mac OS today.

    Any help greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. jive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    This happened to a lot of people.

    Reboot from DVD and reinstall OS X - Archive install, not a clean install. Once this is done, close down Version Cue, redownload and install all the Apple updates. Once this is all done you can open Version Cue up again.

    All your data will still be on your HD and avaiable through the normal routes.

    :]
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  4. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Try booting with your install disc, repair disc, repair permissions.
    If you did a system update, try removing your startup items.
    I believe there was a problem with a system update a while ago, caused by Adobe Version Cue, so if you use it, try turning it off.
     
  5. Grodel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #5



    I can boot in safe mode.... it just took a very long time to load....

    What now?

    Can I fix the issue without reloading the OS?
     
  6. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    If you can boot into safe mode then it is most likely a problem with the startup options.

    If you have Adobe Version Cue, you should now be able to disable it.

    Take the advice to repair permissions.

    Go to System preferences->users->startup items. Disable anything in there.

    Hopefully this should get things working on your next restart.
     
  7. Grodel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #7

    Thanks... Ill try with the permissions. Adobe Version Cue (whatever it is) is not listed in my startup items.

    Thanks
     
  8. Grodel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #8
    Looks like this is my only alternative... I have tried disabling every program that was run at startup without luck.

    You say that all my data will still be there... does that mean I dont have to move anything? No mater where on the HD it is placed?

    What about applications and app settings like mail... will they all still be there afterwards?

    Oh... when Iam done with the reinstall of MacOS, which software update from apple do I skip, so I wont end up with the same issue later tonight? :)

    Thanks in advance!
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Apple has more information on the Archive & Install. I'd try this if you've already removed all the Login Items and it still won't start. It should keep all of your data intact. :)
     

Share This Page