BLUE SCREEN on MacBookPro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MRU, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  2. macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    ouch.



    Do you know what that file is? This may just be localized (i hope), and i doubt it would be boot camp (they tested it extensively and a bug this soon after install would have been detected).

    good luck and lets hope this is local.

    -yankeefan
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
    #3
    Welcome to windows~~

    Maybe something just went fluky during the install...try the whole process again?
     
  4. MRU
    thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Lad's it's not actually my computer but a link on one of the guys at IGN's blogs.

    Just thought it funny, first blue screen error on a mac :D :D :D :D

    I've actually got rid of xp on my imac using bootcamp restore. Now I know it works is all I need. I'll wait for Vista & Leopard before I'd consider doing it permanently.. :) :) :)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #5
    Well at least we know that Apple quality doesn't rub off onto Windows, just by being installed on an Apple machine :rolleyes:
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #6

    Well the pic shows what people could look forward to, even if dual booting was problem-free app....

    You should expect a small number of BSOD even on Macs if windows is sharing HDD with Mac OSX.. :eek: :eek:

    Me: i'd like keep BSOD stuff on like dell hardware, so my Beautiful Mac Hardware doesn't have to feel the pain of going thru a BSOD :D :p :D
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #7
    We also know that some of that Apple quality actually causes some of the problems with Windows.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #8
    It so weird seeing the BSOD on a mac...very strange indeed. I won't be having that problem seeing as I have a PPC mac. Although I think I might try out virtual PC since I can get a copy for free (hurray new media department!) But it would be win98 lol.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #9
    I have no idea what you're trying to say here. Are you saying that you'll get a Blue Screen of Death while booted into OS X? That's factually inaccurate.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #10
    Actually, I've found Win98 to be more usable with VPC than WinXP anyway since 98 isn't that much of a resource hog.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    Don't even think about running XP under VPC, it it just too slow. Both Win98 and Win2k do much better if you must use VPC.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #12

    I'm not saying booting into OS X equals a BSOD ..


    BSOD is Windows only feature that you should expect a small number to happen even if your doing dual booting on the Mac .. :eek:
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #13
    Yeah...Think running WinTel from openosx.com would work ok with win xp on a dual 2ghz G5? Also, I know they don't recommend doing gaming through stuff like that, but I want to run the original version of lemmings...which requires like...33mhz or so. I hope it would do that, then I don't need an old PC kicking around. I also want to run a couple other older games that worked on my win95 box. Motoracer, Robert E Lee Civil War something or rather, and a couple other old games like that.
     
  14. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #14
    Yep, about the only notable feature I can think of :D
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #15
    I'd bet that Boot Camp wasn't tested that well at all. I'm sure they tested it some, but remember this is only a beta. One of the biggest reasons to release a public beta is so the public and test it for you and you can put less resources into testing. That being said, I don't think it is Boot Camp either, but I wouldn't rule it out if this happened to me.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
  17. macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #17
    Who'd have thought! The day a native blue screen of death appears!
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Whiteapple

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Haute Savoie,France
    #18
    Once you're booted into windows, boot camp has nothing to do with you anymore, except for the drivers it got you on a nice cd. This seems like a memory issue, and you dont have drivers for memory.
    Plus, this happens to many crappy home made pcs.
    Up to now, not a single glitch on the macbook. I would therefore refuse to say Boot camp was written quickly, even if it's a "public beta".
     
  19. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #19
    I never said that it was "written quickly". This is Apple we are talking about. I'm sure they did their homework before and while developing Boot Camp. All I said is that saying that Apple "tested it extensively" is probably unfair. I'm sure it was tested before it was released, but not "extensively". Boot Camp will probably be incorporated into new Mac around the time Leopard is released. This beta is the extensive testing for that future incorporation. I also said that I didn't believe that Boot Camp was the problem, but there still is a chance that it is the problem (it could be a driver problem).
     
  20. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #20
    That particular blue screen is, ironically, Apple's fault. They need to either get a working iSight driver going, or provide a dummy driver to properly disable it.
     
  21. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #21
    iMeowbot, that makes some sense, but how do you know that?
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #22
    Didn't someone post this shortly after the announcement and it was caused by trying to use the iSight, (as iMeowbot seemed to suggest)?

    Once we see a beta2, we might get a full set of drivers and this will minimise any issues related to this. Windows can have these problems anyway. I've lost count of the number of times I have either come home from work or woken up, switched on my monitor, (PC used to be running 24/7), only to be told that I didn't have a valid system disc in. Windows had crashed, restarted, discovered that disc I had left in wasn't system related and decided to freeze there. When I check files for last modification, they point to it sitting like that for hours.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #23
    Well mskssrv.sys is a Windows' soundcard driver file. Could just be a bad install as I haven't seen any other reports. I assume you can start up from the Windows XP install disk and run the recovery console.

    Edit; hadn't seen the earlier posts about it being caused by people triggering the isight, if that is the case then it looks like it is a case of hardware clashing with software.
     
  24. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #24
    mskssrv.sys is an intermediate sound and video driver. It's crashing because it's missing the correct device driver. Apple know about that, they mentioned it in the release notes (well, they mentioned that it wasn't working without getting into the gory details of what "not working" would mean).

    As noted in another thread around here, disable it for now to avoid that BSOD.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #25
    HAH!!! :p :p :p :D

    Never seen that before and I don't think it will be the last. :p :p

    I do admit that having windows on the Mac is very useful but you must be careful what you use it for. I personally would only be using it for games and programs that don't use the internet.

    Has anyone installed any symantec software on their windows partition?? Installing windows on your Mac (if you want to do it properly) can be quite expensive...



    aussie_geek
     

Share This Page