Bluetooth keyboard users- question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by decksnap, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #1
    A friend bought an iMac with a bluetooth keyboard. When she tried to connect it, it would not work. What I found strange was that the keyboard showed up with a name already- something like 'acq's keyboard.' Is this normal? Makes me wonder if the keyboard is not actually new? The mouse synced fine, and didn't aleady have a name.

    What do people think?
     
  2. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    I think you might be correct...when I hooked up my wireless keyboard I think it came up as nothing more than a multidigit number. I'm at work typing on a PC right now so can't check for sure.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Is this a used computer? The "name" of the keyboard, oddly enough, is NOT stored in the keyboard, as far as I can tell. It's stored in the computer. So if they've already been paired, the computer has already asked for the user to give the keyboard a name. So if it was used, most probably, in the process of setting it up, the person who sold it to her just paired the kb to make sure it was working.

    Otherwise, it ought to ask you to name it whenever you pair it to a new computer, irrespective of if it's been named on another computer before. At least that's been my experience.

    As far as it not working, can you elaborate? And also if it is not working, and if this is a used computer, can you provide more specifics about the setup?
     
  4. decksnap thread starter macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #4
    mkrishnan- you are worrying me. This is supposed to be a brand new iMac Core 2 ordered from Apple.com, that she's been saving for for three years. We've just spent four hours getting everything else set up on this new machine. I would have much rather heard that the keyboard was used, not the computer.

    Is it possible they needed to pair it to set up the bto RAM or anything?

    When I say it failed, I mean it asks me to type in a number code on the keyboard to complete the pairing process, and after I type it in, it tells me that the pairing was not successful.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    No, but it is definitely possible that it got randomly quality control audited so they booted it up at the factory to make sure it was working properly.

    Mmmm, this is a hint again from an unrelated source (I posted it for someone else) but this basically destroys the bluetooth pairings list on your computer. Often, once you do this, everything behaves properly. The downside is that if you have already iSync'd a phone, it will appear as a "new" phone to iSync. Otherwise, though, it is a good troubleshooting step, if you have another keyboard with which to do it. You can find out how from this page:

    http://www.markspace.com/support/kb.php?mod_id=2&id=2728

    Option 8. Several of the other options may also be worthwhile, though.
     
  6. decksnap thread starter macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #6
    Thanks... I will talk with her about it and see what she wants to do.
     
  7. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #7
    mkrishnan seems to have all the cool semi-hidden answers ;) I would have her or really you (so she doesn't get upset) run the serial number through AppleCare and see what comes up. I hope it's new and not a used system that someone returned just after they bought it. You know those type, I should really get the 24" or a MBP instead, let's send it back :rolleyes:
    Good luck and post back.
     
  8. decksnap thread starter macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #8
    Well thanks for your help guys. I may never know the answer unfortunately. She got on the phone with Apple care, and after 13 tries she said it finally took. :confused:
     
  9. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #9
    interestring...my new imacs keyboard was also called ACQ! but it was shrinwrapped and obviously new (by the smell lol). No fingerprints either or anything. it must have been done at the factory. Mind you, i tested the computer in store to check for any problems before leaving, and the genius bar loaned me a wired kb/b. it might have had to do with that...but iono. the computer was definitely new.
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    As far as I'm aware, newly paired keyboards default to a certain naming scheme. Mine defaults to my home name's keyboard. What's the name of the friend's account on the iMac? :)
     
  11. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Your keyboard is legit...

    I just checked and mine shows up as...

    cqaskeyboard#1

    Which sounds like what you had show up.

    darren
     
  12. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #12
    Great! we have confirmation. nothing to worry about here
     

Share This Page