Bluetooth Phone as remote: Activation required?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bmelon, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. bmelon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I can't find any info on this in the forums...
    I'm looking for a cheap bluetooth remote for my powerbook. My plan was to buy a non-activated bluetooth phone from craigslist or ebay. Anyone know if activation would be required to use that phone as a remote?
    thanks!
    Also, any suggestions about which phones to look for?
     
  2. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #2
    I can't imagine activation would be required. BT should work separate from the service. I would recommend Sony-Ericsson if you just want it for a remote. The best would be the k700i because it has an HID which allows for an actual remote interface. That model isn't really cheap, however.
     
  3. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #3
    It depends upon both the carrier and the phone, a lot refuse to do anything unless they ahve a valid SIM in them, anyway I wouldn't call a bluetooth phone a cheap remote not by a long shot...
     
  4. bmelon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #4
    interesting...
    what would you recommend for a cheap remote?
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    You should be able to use it as a remote. All you will probably have to do is find a SIM card. Even a blank one will do. I used to put a blank sim in my t68i to use bluetooth features. As for getting a SIM card, that is up to you. I don't know if Cingular (or any other phone company) will hand one to you, although they are pretty useless without their activation so they might.

    jon
     
  6. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    I have a K750i, and I cant make it work with Salling Clicker.
    Do you know the 700 work, or is it just me?
    Sorry for the hijacking:eek:
     
  7. dan-o-mac macrumors 6502a

    dan-o-mac

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #7
    I would call my t610 a cheap bluetooth remote. I got it off of craigslist for 50 bucks.
     
  8. dan-o-mac macrumors 6502a

    dan-o-mac

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    Have you been to the site lately? salling 3.0 has support for k750i.
     
  9. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #9
    Get a Verizon phone, or one that isn't GSM and doesn't use SIM Cards. They work with no activation.
     
  10. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10

    Verizon's Bluetooth is crippled at best, can't do much with it besides sync and headset. The remote softwares wont work
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Just out of curiosity, what does "HID" stand for in this context, and what does this mean? Thanks! :eek:
     
  12. PickledSquirrel macrumors regular

    PickledSquirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aarhus, DK
    #12
    I use a SE T610 with my imac, works flawlessly with Romeo (which is freeware:D) for media remote.

    -Squirrel
     
  13. khisayruou macrumors 6502a

    khisayruou

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #13
    HID = Human Interface Device

    A fancy microsoft word that simply describes a device that can take human input, like a keyboard.
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    Thanks...I'm familiar with that usage of HID...but every cell phone has an HID. What's special about the K700i, though? It isn't touch sensitive, is it? Is it that it has a built-in remote control program? I'm under the impression that some Sony-Ericssons do.

    P.S. #1...I suppose there are no super-cheap BT PDAs available out there, but a touch screen would be gangsta' for this application. :)

    P.S. #2...Does MS really get credit for coining "Human Interface Device?"
     
  15. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #15
    No, so I took a look this morning. After downloading latest version I´m up and running. Very cool little app.
    Thanks for reminding me
     
  16. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #16
    can the RAZR be used as a remote?
    if yes, how can it be configured?
     

Share This Page