Boot Camp 1.1.1 with Vista RC1 on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SRSound, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. SRSound macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #1
    After searching the forums, I've been unable to answer this question:

    Does Vista RC1 work with Boot Camp 1.1.1 on a mac pro?

    If anyone has attempted this, I would love to know! Thanks very much.
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Haven't got a Mac Pro, but I didn't use Boot Camp for Vista RC-1 on my MacBook Pro.

    Try to see if your Mac Pro can boot "natively" off the Vista RC-1 DVD, and try to install it that way. Worked for me.
     
  3. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #3
    It doesn't work, Vista doesn't think any of the drives are suppoted and it tells you to check your bios settings.

    This is even after the EFI update that was posted yesterday.
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Right. That's pretty clear. ;)

    A MacBook Pro is no Mac Pro, that is clear then. :D

    Install XP SP 2 with Boot Camp, and then "upgrade" (if you can call it that with a beta... :rolleyes: ) to Vista RC-1?
     
  5. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #5
    That does work... I installed RC 1 from XP without any issues. The catch is that to install the 64-bit version of Vista, you have to install it from the 64-bit version of XP, and I don't recommend the 64-bit version of Vista if you have the x1900 XT card. The graphics drivers are glitchy, but x86 works just fine.
     
  6. John Inman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    OS X, Windows XP, Vista RC1

    I used boot camp for installing Windows XP on the same drive as OS X on my Mac Pro.

    But I used a new SATA drive in slot 4 for installing Vista RC1. It works great. I can boot into any of the 3 OS's with no problem. Vista does not need boot camp and you don't need to do an upgrade from Windows XP.
     
  7. Trekkie macrumors 6502a

    Trekkie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    #7
    So I take it those of us not wanting to shelling out money for XP just to upgrade to Vista are SOL for now then?

    I'm in no mood to buy XP with Vista just around the corner.
     
  8. SRSound thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #8
    So are any programs designed for XP cross compatible with Vista? At this point, can the new OS be used for anything, or does it just look pretty?
     
  9. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #9
    Somewhat... it isn't that Vista changes much, but with the 'new' UAC, it breaks apps that assume that the user is running as an administrator. So expect quite a few games, installers, etc to all break.

    If I was an average user (i.e. Mac User with a couple XP apps that /need/ to work), I would not migrate to Vista until the apps you use have been updated to be Vista-friendly.
     
  10. SRSound thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #10
    It seems like I have no need for vista, other then to entertain myself. Then again, I really have no need for Windows at all. Hmmm.
     
  11. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11

Share This Page