boot camp help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bigblobman, Jul 11, 2006.

  1. bigblobman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #1
    hello, ive recently downloaded bootcamp for my mac book pro. I've followed the set up and the process. I have my windows cd in when it restarts, it goes through the whole windows setup process. And then, it asks me to put a proof of original windows disk in. But the problem is, i cant get my windows cd to eject for i can put the other cd in? I've tried holding down the eject button next to the right side of the F12 button but it doesnt come out. Is there anyway to eject the cd and continue the windows installion? Help would be much appreciated, thanks.

    Mac book pro 2.16
     
  2. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    What is the proof it is asking for?

    If its asking for the CD Key just write it down before hand.

    If it isn't asking for the CD Key, I have no idea what you're talking about.
     
  3. bigblobman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #3
    this is when its in dos. Its asking to insert an older version of windows not a cd key. Ive been reading around and ive read threads saying you need service pack 2. Is there anyway to eject the disk an insert an older windows version in order to install windows xp in dos mode during the setup process followed by boot camp?
     
  4. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Unfortunately you can only install XP with SP2 included on the install disc. If you only have XP you can slipstream SP2

    If you're trying to install XP only you won't have any luck so you may have to do a hard restart and eject the cd in OS X.
     
  5. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    Sounds like you're trying to use an upgrade install of windows.

    I'm not sure how that would work exactly.

    You may find more help in the windows on mac forum.
     

Share This Page