Boot Camp ! Immediate help needed.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nilmar, May 12, 2006.

  1. nilmar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
  2. andcraig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    #2
    Maybe try doing it with a seperate USB keyboard and mouse?

    Not sure how drivers would work with the built in keyboard, don't think it'd be anything special, but it'd be worth a shot.
     
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    That's so strange. You're pressing Enter as in Return, the big funny shaped button to the right, yeah?

    Do any of the other options work (if it's possible to try them without messing everything up...)? Or is the keyboard nonresponsive in the setup program?
     
  4. nilmar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #4
    the keyboard is non responsive in the setup program .. what happen ! I cant press F3 to quit also. Not a single button works.... Someone please help.
     
  5. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #5
    I would try to attach a USB keyboard and see if that helps..
     
  6. GannonMt21 macrumors newbie

    GannonMt21

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #6
    hmmm. when I used Boot Camp and installed XP it told me to press F6 to install. or maybe it was F8 it was one of those function keys. it never told me to press enter.
     
  7. nilmar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
  8. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #8
    Not that this helps you but I'm sure that the keyboard on my MBP worked during the installation of XP. You are installing XP SP2 aren't you?
     
  9. nilmar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #9
    nope. Im planning to install XP then upgrade to SP2
     
  10. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #10
    This could well be your problem then. You can only install XP SP2 with Boot Camp. Apple make this clear in the instructions.

    You'll have to slipstream SP2 into your XP installation disc using the instructions from here http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp.
     
  11. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    There is probably your problem. It has to be a SP2 install disk.
     
  12. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #12
  13. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #13
    Mmm... they did figure out the problem.

    You really should read instructions before installing something intricate like Windows on your mac. It CLEARLY states SP2 only.
     
  14. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #14
    Since the original poster didn't follow up to say it was working now, I figured it wasn't, but I suppose its more likely that he was just being unconscientious.
     
  15. pincho macrumors regular

    pincho

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #15
    i had the same thing happen to me on a Windows XP cd without SP2 on my MacBook Pro. i reset the computer and it worked .weird..
     
  16. Popus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #16
    Same problem here, just unplug all usb devices you have. My mighty mouse was cuasing the freeze, unpluged it and it worked fine.
     
  17. strydr macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #17
    I can verify this.. I tried (several times) to get my old base XP Pro (no SP's) to install.. I could get it to work fine, but I could never get SP2 to install. It would crap out every time.. Finally, I slipstreemed my old disk with SP2, and all is good now.
     
  18. Killian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    #18
    :confused: Although it does CLEARLY state SP2 only, I don't see why this would disable the keyboard at that stage. I could understand it resulting in random problems after setup but that seems awfully strange!
     
  19. Vaphoron macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #19
    I agree, I seriously doubt keyboard problems at that stage of the setup have anything to do with being SP2 or not. The XP disc that I used to install with was an upgrade CD that had no service packs at all and I still managed to install without a problem. Once I had Windows XP installed I couldn't upgrade to SP2 so I just made a slipstreamed install CD and then reinstalled.
     
  20. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #20
    I think that the keyboard not working is the least of the problems

    Do yourself a favor, read the manual/instructions that they give you. They didn't print them for their own pleasure. It clearly states that you NEED, not "it'd be nice if you had..." Service Pack 2. Why it took so long in the thread for you to tell us this crucial fact is beyond me. Come on.
     
  21. Killian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    #21

    Hahahaha, if you continue to read many of the other posts on this forum about BootCamp, you'll see this guy's not the only one who didn't bother to read the book!! After reading on these kinds of forums about people who have wrecked their Macs because of not installing correctly, I read the manual religiously before installing. And even then, I went through it step by step to double check, lol!! Macs are just too expensive to **** up experimenting, lol.
     
  22. Killian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    #22
    By the way!!!! Reading another post in these forums I've found someone else has had this problem. They resolved it by unplugging all of their USB equipment and starting again? I don't suppose that might help you??
     

Share This Page