boot camp on g4

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wmmk, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
  2. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    darn! i just want mvp baseball and madden and nba live! anone know of good sports games (free or cheap) for mac
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Annorax

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    MA
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #5
    ok. the whole "bootcamp on g5" thing was a hoax. im just gullible..
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #6
    crap

    that really stinks. dammit. the only way to run windows on a g4 is virtual pc for mac, but thats slow as hell.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Indeed - all other support for Microsoft OSs requires an Intel CPU.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Epic Thread Revival Maneuver...

    I remember the Virutal PC days. Trying to get it to run on my 400Mhz G3 iMac...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #9
    i run virtual pc on ibook g4 with 800 mhz 640 ram, and the computer runs okay, but browsing the web is so insanely slow, and running a program is horrible, i even tried zoo tycoon. fortuneatly, i only spent 10 dollars on ebay for it, not the whopping 120 microsoft charges you. they dont even make it anymore.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Virtual PC wasn't bad to run winmx (pre bittorrent file sharing) but games were garbage as it's emulated video card was rubbish. Oh well. New Mac Pro running XP 64-bit at ridiculously fast speeds, no complaints now. :D
     
  11. McGiord, Apr 15, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #11
    Time to upgrade or buy an Intel Mac, check used ones and refurbished, previous models have good prices.
    With my Intel MacBook I can run the fastest MacPlus ever, OS9 PowerPC, and all the Windows crap.

    Or one of the OpenComputer?macs recently announced...
    ________
    GM L66 engine
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #12
    How are you running OS9? Sheepshaver?

     
  13. McGiord, Apr 16, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #13
    Yes, Sheepshaver for OS9,and vMac for the MacPlus.
    ________
    Chevrolet Corvette GTP history
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #14
    An even cheaper route may be to just buy or build a Windows PC. This is most likely the easiest option as well. A used PC with fair specs can be had for a song and a dance, also, there is no need to worry about setting up bootcamp or parallels. At least it would hold you over until your inevitable Intel Mac purchase :D
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #15
    btw, a lot of us have a pc lying around but it helps to have it in the next window, so you dont have to keep switching computers.

    (every single freaking media converter, ex. Super, only runs on a freaking PC, and the only one for mac is QT pro which costs money, and i always use the free option...) :):):):apple:
     

Share This Page