Boot Camp Startup problems.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MacTT, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    Holy Moly, here I was so excited to Setup Bootcamp and this is what I get.

    I kind of don't understand what I am doing, or what is wrong with my mac in the first place? Does anyone know why this is happening and what can I do in detailed instructions. Yes, I am new to mac :)

    *I really want to play my games :( *

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #2
    OK okok .. after about 5 hours of working on this, I finally figured out how to do it! :) Now I have windows xp on my imac. Perfect! :D
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #3
    I get the same error, could you please tell me how you fixed it?
     
  4. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    similar thing happened to me. I think it''s somthing that happened after updating the firmware

    Simply install your imac restore disc.
    Boot up from the disc by holding down C

    When install starts, choose english, but instead of going through the install process, choose disk utility from the top menu bar...

    Run Repair Disk and it will verify and repair.

    Once repaired.

    Reboot computer and go through bootcamp again. You will now be able to partition and install...

    Takes 10 minutes at the most to do the above.. :)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the tip!

    Now I have a new problem.. It won´t partition because "some files can´t be moved", and tells me I need to format my startup disk.

    I´m a total newbie on OSX, and this is my first Mac, so pardon my ignorance..

    Anyone have any advice on fixing this without re-formatting?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #6
    Nevermind. turns out OSX just needed more space - when I made the XP partition smaller it just worked. Edit: It started working, then stopped and gave me the same error message, gonna try creating some more free space to see if that works.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

Share This Page