Bootable Backup?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by rikers_mailbox, May 21, 2005.

  1. rikers_mailbox
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #1
    Is it possible to make a bootable disk image my hard drive onto a external firewire drive?

    I just want an image that I could boot into (aka selectable from the Startup Disk pref.) that's a duplicate of the current state of my PowerBook.

    How can I do this?
     
  2. rikers_mailbox
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #3
  3. edesignuk
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    I'd also like to chip in a vote to use SuperDuper! It really is super :D
     
  4. andiwm2003
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    i just did that for my switch from 10.3 to TIGER. Superduper works fast, reliable and its really easy to use. even I could do it (in fact i created a bootable partition on my firewire HD).

    the best feature seems to be that you can update your bootable backup without copying the whole HD again. it just copies the files that have changed. that allows you to mirror your hd to an external drive on a daily basis. haven't test it yet but i will.

    i think its worth the $20. but the bootable backup function alone is free.

    andi
     
  5. joetronic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #6
    you can also use NetAssist Helper. I think its at version tracker.
     
  6. MarksEvilTwin
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
  7. rikers_mailbox
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #8
    Tell me more about this. . . I was thinking of doing the same thing.

    So you created a CCC of your PB drive on an external drive, then clean installed Tiger. Then what? Can you use the migration assistant to move all the settings in you CCC backup to the new Tiger install?

    TIA.
     
  8. iGary
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9
    I recently downloaded Supe Duper as I lost my serial for Retro Express, which came with my drive.

    So much easier.
     

Share This Page