Bootable Lion install image *somewhere*

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Maury, May 11, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #1
    Every time I restart my Pro it opens into Disk Tools. I'm pretty convinced there's an install image left behind somewhere and the system is finding it during boot.

    Does anyone know where the software installer placed it's goods? If I can find and delete the image I can finally make this go away.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Lion has a Recovery Partition.
    Hold down the OPTION key during startup, then select your actual OS to boot from, then when booting has finished, go to System Preferences > Startup Disk and select the proper startup volume.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #3
    I do. Over and over and over and over and over again. I've does this literally dozens of times, and it boots into the recovery move every single time.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #4
    That sounds like all you have is Lion Recovery and no OS installed. Try reinstalling Lion.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #5
    I have Lion installed perfectly. The main drive has a complete system on it, and is marked as bootable and selected as the main boot drive.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    I don't think you do.

    Just so I understand. How are you booting into Lion? Are you option booting then selecting Lion and that works, but when you restart it goes back to the Recovery mode?

    That sounds like something went wrong with your Lion install and a reinstall might fix it.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #7
    Almost.

    In Startup disk, my HD is selected as the boot drive.

    In spite of tis, *ANY* reboot, with or without option, goes into Recovery.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #8
    I still think a Lion reinstall would fix this. I sounds like the Lion install got jacked up.
     

Share This Page