BootCamp 3.2 Update for MacBook Pro (early 2011)

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #2
    getting ready to order my new MBP soon.. so I'm glad there is an update incase I want to do bootcamp instead of VMWare.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    @ghostlyorb... Beware that running windows via bootcamp doesn't support graphics switching (like in Mac side) between intel and AMD graphics. Sucks big time. Less battery life and more heat. Apple should bring out updated drivers at least to allow manual switching (can't even choose intel graphics!)

    So this update to bootcamp probably doesn't mean much unless it improves the graphics. Running windows on Mac is definitely not as good as running windows on a windows pc.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    My control button is useless in bootcamp. I hope they update this soon. It's not a deal breaker, but it's annoying at times when I'm not using my portable mouse.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #5
    Yeah thanks. I'll mostly be using VMWare for most of everything for college. I have a few programs for work that are Windows only, but I'll just use VMware for that too. No sense installing a partition for only using a few times. Plus.. with the 2.3GHz quad i7.. I have the power to do everything in mac!
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Beirut
    #6
    Thank God !

    This update should solve the shutdown issue I've had since day 1 on my new 15' MBP.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    guzhogi

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Wherever my feet take me…
    #7
    Sorry, a little off topic, but I've considered getting VMWare or Parallels, but have one question: can I create a BootCamp partition and then use it as a source disk in VMWare/Parallels? Just so that I could do the best of both worlds as I need it?
     
  8. ZBB
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #8
    Yes.

    But there are a couple downsides to it. For example, you have to be careful if you sleep the Win partition when using in VMWare/Parallels. You should shut down Windows in VMWare and then reboot the next time you go in (either VMWare or BootCamp)

    When I first got VMWare I did a joint VMWare/BootCamp partition. I eventually just moved to VMWare only because it was simpler and I really didn't need BootCamp -only items anymore...
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #9
    Unless you need to run something powerful then BootCamp is more hassle than it's worth. Simply because I hate having to restart.

    The lack of fluid read/write between each file system is also annoying.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #10
    You mean for "right" clicking? You do know you can do that with a two-finger click, don't you?
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #11
    What was the issue? I've seen it a few times just lock up completely when trying to shutdown/restart in Windows.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #12
    I also started with a Boot Camp partition that I would usually run in VMWare Fusion and then eventually just dropped the Boot Camp partition in favor of a normal VM.

    Another disadvantage of that setup is that, for whatever reason, disk performance is s-l-o-w in Fusion when booting from a Boot Camp partition. I never tried it with an SSD, but with a spinny disk I waited forever for disk I/O, including bootups of Windows. With a normal VM it was several times faster.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Beirut
    #13
    It's exactly that issue, the same day I got the Mac, I installed Windows 7 64 bit and it wouldn't shutdown. I'd get the Shutting Down message and it just stayed there. The Windows installation was completely fresh, nothing extra installed yet. But the restart procedure worked so I think Boot Camp had an issue shutting down a device on those Early 2011 MacBooks.

    However, it seems this update breaks the ability to set the brightness, I'll be checking this soon.

    http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/11/04/08/apple_boot_camp_update_fixes_shutdown_issues_causes_brightness_problems.html
     
  14. macrumors regular

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    i have installed windows 7 ultimate SP1 x64 without any issues. also updated to boot camp v3.2 and still have yet to see/experience any of the shutdown or brightness issues. :) must be lucky...
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #15
    I wonder if this will fix the issue with PowerPoint crashing every time I try to edit a presentation.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #16
    Even with the update my trackpad randomly stopped working and the damn thing gets very hot all over. Everything is fine in OSX of course. :rolleyes:
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe
    #17
    Short and sweet article right here.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #18
    So it makes no sense to update if I've got a mid 2010 MacBook Pro, right?
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #19
    No Bluetooth

    I just got my macbook pro 15.4(2011 i7 2.2ghz 8gb ram 500gb 7200rpm hd6750) a couple of days ago and today i found out that my bluetooth driver isn't installed in windows 7 x64(smbus and an pci neither but got it working with intel update utility:D) doest anybody knows a solution?
     

Share This Page