Bootcamp Cannot Move Files

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dmurray14, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. dmurray14 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #1
    OK, I'm pissed.

    I had Vista beta on here for a while. Outgrew the 15gb too fast. So I went back to one partition with the intention to repartiton to 25gb or so. I got an error that it could not move my files, so I followed the instructions, backed up my drive, wiped it clean then restored the image. Booted into OSX and tried to do the partition at 30gb (keep in mind I have 53gb free). NOPE. Same error. How is this even possible? How can I fix this?

    Thanks in advance.

    Dan
     
  2. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #2
    Did you commit a clean install of OSX? i.e. completely erasing the HD and any other partitions? I had the same problem, and as such was solved by an absolute reformat. In my research, I discovered that some people solved this problem by deleting Parallels 'VM' files from their Mac partition.
     
  3. dmurray14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #3


    What I did was make an image of my mac (only) partition. I booted from the OSX dvd, and used disk utility to erase the drive and repartition it, then I restored the image to the drive (sidenote: I thought this would defragment the data, or in otherwords put it all at the front of the drive, but iDefrag seems to report it doesn't - odd). I did not reinstall OSX. Wouldn't I lose all my data that way? At least with the image restore my OS install and all my data is still there. I was under the impression that with a new OSX install I'd basically be starting from scratch.

    I DID have parallels installed, and I removed the program and a fairly large file (which I believe was the image) although I guess it's possible some of the files are still around - where should I look for them?

    Thanks,
    Dan
     
  4. reflex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Yes you would. So you should backup anything you wish to keep before doing that.
     
  5. dmurray14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #5
    There has to be a way to do this without loosing my data.

    Here's what I don't understand...the image file is compacted, so why, when I extract it to the drive, does it put it back fragmented? That doesn't seem to make sense.
     
  6. dmurray14 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #6
    FWIW, I bought Coriolis iDefrag and defragged the drive, and I'm now posting from Vista.

    Dan
     
  7. MacWish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #7

Share This Page