Bootcamp direct x

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by SamtheDrummer, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    Hello,
    I've installed Rome total war using the windows 7 rc, but it keeps telling me to install direct x 9. I went on the site and downloaded it but it still says there is no direct x. Can anyone help?
    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Did you install the drivers off of the OS X DVD for the video card?

    There might be a compatibility problem with how DirectX 10 is reported back to older software. Have you tried running the game in a compatibility mode?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #3
    Oh no I haven't used the os disk. What do I do on it is it obvious?
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    It is set to autorun off of the OS X DVD. If you're running a 64-bit version you're better off exploring the disc and running the Setup in the BootCamp64 folder.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #5
    Right sorry to be stupid, but do I use the OS disk or the applications disk?
    I tried the OS disk and when I opened it it says install OS X restart system which seemed a bit extreme!
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You tried this under Windows right? How are you going to install the drivers for Windows while in OS X? :confused:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #7
    OH, I dont know why I was doing it in OS X *slap*
    Thankyou :D
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #8
    I installed the bootcamp drivers, but it still wont work. It just keeps saying this game needs direct x 9 to run :confused:
     
  9. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Is the game patched up? Have you tried running it in a compatibility mode?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #10
    How do I use compatibility mode? I honestly dont understand why it isnt working :confused:
     

Share This Page