Bootcamp HD Size on Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Scuba629, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #1
    What size does everyone use for their Bootcamp partitions? I have a 256GB drive and wasn't sure how large to make the Windows 7 partition...

    I'm not sure how many games will go on it but games are the reason I am using Bootcamp and not just a VM.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #2
    Mine is 30 GB but you can make it bigger if needed later on.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #3
    Wait you can resize it? I must admit im new to bootcamp but I thought once you selected the initial partition size it was a done deal. No?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #4
    There are some apps that supposedly resize partitions, but they have mixed results. It's best to set a size, and consider it as a done deal.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #5
    I was thinking 60GB but maybe that's to much? After looking at Streams website most games are ready for Mac.
     
  6. Bob Coxner, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #6
    I went with a minimal Win 7 bootcamp at 40gb. You could use that as your baseline and then add space for whatever games you need.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    #7
    I set mine at 60GB. I was waffling on whether or not to go 80GB but it really depends on how much you think you'll be using your Win7 partition and how many programs, etc. you'll be installing on the Windows side. Cheers!

    P.S. I can also tell you that my 60GB partition actually formatted out to 56GB usable and a full install of Win7 Ultimate 64 (including all updates) left only 23GB of available space. Only thing extra installed is Apple iTunes and Quicktime. If you have to install MS Office or games on the Windows side then I would highly suggest you go at least 80GB.

    James
     
  8. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #8
    Kinda. You back it up with Winclone, delete and resize the partition with Disk Utility, restore with Winclone.

    http://twocanoes.com/asset.php?id=8
     
  9. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #9
    Winclone is the best program for resizing a partition later. It also works as a way to back an up entire partition. It is $20. You can even use it to move a Boot Camp partition to a new Mac, but sometimes there are added steps because of driver incompatibilities.

    Anyway, I have a 75GB partition. It's enough for Windows 7 64-bit Professional, Windows XP Mode (which I used to need when my corporate site required IE 6.0 or 7.0), Office 2010, Quicken 2012, some utilities, and about 20GB free. Windows itself requires 20GB.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #10
    Shouldn't standard Unix utilities like fdisk be able to resize the partition? And if the partition is resized, how would you go about fixing the boot sectors and such?
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    I believe that's what Winclone does. It used to be a "free" program, but was abandoned for a time before a new person took it over and made it a paid program. For $20, it's well worth it for me.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #12
    Not if you want Windows to work afterwards...

    ----------

    Winclone takes care of this for you.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota/Wisconsin
    #13
    Although most games are ready for mac, I still find most of them still run better on a Mac running Windows.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #14
    Hmm, I've resized my fair share of Windows partitions in dual-boot Linux boxes, never once had a problem getting Windows to work afterwards... Just run grub-update afterwards to make it point to the right place, and everything should work as intended.

    Now, I have no idea if there's any command like grub-update when it comes to the boot manager Apple uses, but if there is, Winclone doesn't really seem that necessary...
     
  15. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #15
    Should. If it was that easy the interwebz wouldn't be littered with horror stories about resizing Bootcamp partitions. Winclone just works. :cool:
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #16
    Use VM, Bootcamp sucks
     
  17. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #17
    Ummmm, Bootcamp runs Windows better than a VM ever will. It doesn't suck if you know what you're doing... :rolleyes:
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #18
    It's working great for me (8GB RAM).
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #19
    Yeah go ahead and try and play a game on that. Good luck.
     
  20. macrumors member

    schopaia

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #20
    I'm seeing comments recommending 20 and 30GB installs. I'm wondering if these guys have boot camp at all.

    Initially, I tried the minimum install. As soon as I got up and running I was getting 'low disk space' warnings. Then I tried 30GB, which seemed like a good size, but once I installed one (rather large) program (autodesk revit) I was out of space again.

    Finally I set it to 50GB which is enough for a few large programs and some space for files. I would't recommend going any lower.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #21
    The only place I play games is in my bedroom.
     
  22. macrumors 604

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #22
    Games play fine, even on 4GB of RAM. What specifically are you complaining about? :confused:

    ----------

    That's what mine is set up at, and it seems like a decent size. With Parallels you can have all your data on the Mac partition, which has the added bonus of being backed up with Time Machine.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #23
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #24
     
  25. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #25
    I set it at 75. Guess I'll reformat if I have to.
     

Share This Page