Bootcamp: How to get partioned space back

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dorthyinoz, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. dorthyinoz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #1
    So installed bootcamp in hopes of using bootcamp. well using the assistant I formated 20% for windows. Well the windows disc I had didn't work, so is there any way I can get that disc space back for mac use?
     
  2. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #2
    Run bootcamp again. It has an option to remove the Windows drive
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Run the Boot Camp Assistant again to restore the drive to a single partition.

    What was wrong with your disc?

    B
     
  4. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    Probably had a pirated disc that wasn't authored right, so it wouldn't boot. Or, alternatively, an old, non-SP2 (but legal) release of XP.

    Hey OP, you can make your own SP2-containing, bootable disc, as long as you have a working bootable source disc (i.e. an older XP disc). Just look up "slipstream XP SP2" on google and find a guide.
     
  5. dorthyinoz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #5
    thanks
    yes when I re-run bootcamp there is no option like the man. says there should be:( it acts like ive never ran bootcamp but the HD def recognizes that I have made OSX 100 gb. Would it be easiest if I just back up and reinstall OSX?
     
  6. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #6
    Hrmm the second option should be "Create or Remove"
     
  7. dorthyinoz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #7
    Im in the midst or reinstalling OSX, but im a little worried as when I put the disc it it said there was only 100 gb avail free, which is what i set it to in bootcamp. Did i screw my computer and myself over now?
     
  8. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #8
    no, not at all. If you are already going to reinstall, in the installation (before you do anything else) Go to the Utility menu and use the Disk Utility to create one single partition on the drive. You should be good to go from there.
     
  9. n8236 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #9
    When I tried to remove my bootcamp partition via Disk Utility, it required me to erase the whole HD, wiping out all partitions including the OSX. So I don't know how ideal that is if you just want to remove the bootcamp partition.

    As to what others said, if u run Bootcamp again, it's smart enough to detect you already got that partition setup and it'll give you the option to revert your drive back to one partition. But if you intend on reinstalling it, you'll need your hd to be defragged in order to create a bootcamp partition larger than your previous installer. But if you dun have defrag, you can recreate your bootcamp partition to something smaller (smallest 1gb less) for it to work again without wiping your OSX.
     

Share This Page