Bootcamp in Mac OS X Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Matthew2909, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #1
    If I download the Lion update because I've lost my Snow Leopard disc, so If I get Lion which I was planning anyway, how can I get it to work? I already have Windows 7 ready just need the mac software...
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #2
    Lion installs on top of Snow Leopard once you purchase it from the App store.

    Another way to think of this is, Snow Leopard is a prereq to Lion. Unless of course you're using hacks.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #3
    Is their a Lion disc I can buy? Because I dont understand wether I need the Snow Leopard disc or can just use lion for bootcamp
     
  4. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Lion is a download only purchase. There is no discs to buy and being such you cannot just boot up Lion to install, hence the requirement that you need Snow Leopard.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    ?
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    No
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #6
    The Boot Camp Assistant lets you download the Windows Boot Camp Drivers (version 4.0), which you can burn to a CD and install that from scratch or on top of previous Boot Camp drivers from the Windows end.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #7
    If you're already running at least Mac OS X 10.6.6 (IIRC), you will have the Mac App Store in your dock. With that, you can download Lion. Once Lion is installed, a small "rescue" partition is created on your hard drive, containing recovery files. The understanding is that this recovery partition can be used to reinstall Lion if the worse can happens, but only after Lion is already installed.

    Of course, there are probably already several torrents of the Lion GM seed floating around the internet, so ......

    On the other hand, it sounds as if the OP simply wants to know if Lion supports Boot Camp so that he can run Windows 7 on his Mac :eek:

    To the OP: all kidding aside, Boot Camp Assistant will most likely be in the same place on lion as it is in Snow Leopard - look in the Applications/Utilities folder and just run it as before. If you already have it running under Snow Leopard, it should run as expected under Lion. I have Lion installed on an external hard drive (with Windows 7, as I need to do some Windows stuff for grad school) and can let you know how it works, once I get to work.

    The other posters are correct. Apple is moving towards a software download-only process for future software sales. Not only does it drastically reduce costs for Apple, but as seen with Final Cut Pro X and Aperture, it also results in a drastically reduced price for consumers as well.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    Planet Earth, Old World
    #8
    Whether it "drastically" reduces cost for Apple (I wonder why people always assume superlative) remains a mystery to any outsider of Apple, even you.

    You know, internet bandwidth is not exactly free, and millions of users downloading from your servers is not cheap. It may be cheaper than producing DVDs, but who knows? Have you seen the internal calculations of Apple? No? Thought so.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #9
    What I did was, I went back to SL from Lion, then installed Win 7 through Bootcamp, then upgraded SL to Lion afterwards. Works fine for me :D.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Hants
    #10
    Just run boot camp and download the latest drivers.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #11
    As I pointed out, no longer does Apple have to press nearly as many DVDs, box them up, and ship them around the world. Just stop to consider how much is spent on just those steps. I fail to understand why internet "tough guys" such as yourself feel the need to constantly spout your ignorance about the situation as well. Have YOU checked out the cost of seeding OS X Lion to user worldwide? No? Thought so.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #12
    boot camp with mac os x lion

    hello i had a macbook pro with snow leopard i just bought in may and i had bootcamp with windows 7 yesterday i just buy the new OS X Lion and i installed but now i can't find the windows 7 part can anyone help me what i have to do to recover my windows 7 or i have to install again windows 7 on the new OS X Lion?
     
  13. palyons, Jul 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #13
    You likely will not have to re-install Windows 7 or anything like that. Here is a simple solution for you. Download rEFIt 0.14. Here's what you do, instead of burning a 20mb .iso file on a cd or dvd, you can in fact restore the contents of the .iso to a small usb device. Just make sure you backup the contents of the usb reader to your hard drive, and then format the card as Mac OS X Journaled (extended). Anyway to do all this just select the usb device in Disk Utility, go to Restore tab and you should be able to make the usb device bootable through all this.

    IF all the above I've described is too complicated for you, then just simply burn the downloaded .iso to a cd-r(w) / dvd-r(w), but make sure you unzip the the compressed iso, which will be called rEFIt-0.14.cdr.gz before burning it.

    Once done, simply boot up your mac, hold down alt/option key immediately AFTER the Mac startup sound, choose the Partitioning tool, it will ask if you want to update the GPT/MBR table, say yes. With some luck it may start up in Windows 7.
     

Share This Page