Bootcamp on MacBook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by thomasemery, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone have any idea whether Bootcamp will be possible on a MacBook Air seeing as it has no drive?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    It has an 80GB drive or 64GB SSD, will definitely be possible as it is a function of OS X
     
  3. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    guessing they mean optical drive.

    I'm sure you could get it on their some how, winclone from a bootcamp partition on another computer for example, or perhaps a network install via a USB ethernet adapter. Having an iso of the disk on a USB drive might work as well.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Ah yes that makes sense. I would imagine more than a few people will opt for the $ 99 external just so they can do this sort of thing without using the network. I purchased a MBA for my wife and I was thinking you'd just use the drive on another mac to do this OTA, but I do not think she will need windows on it. Still feel like I should go back and order the external drive for some strange reason.
     
  5. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Good point they may have allowed the Optical drive sharing to act as an install option for Bootcamp or force users to buy an external drive.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #6
    I'm hoping to get Windows through Boot Camp as well. I imagine we should be able to mount a virtual disk image or something right? Never used Boot Camp before.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    Thanks for the opinions guys. It would seem that it would be somewhat difficult to install Windows without the optical drive.

    I think this will become an issue for some people thinking about purchasing the Macbook Air
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Akashi, Japan
    #8
    Running Windows

    I'm also teetering on the brink of an MBA purchase (lock up that credit card!) but need to run Windows SW sometimes. A wiser head in a different thread suggested using VM Fusion or Parallels rather than Bootcamp to avoid the loss of precious disk space that partitioning involves.

    Since both progs are normal Mac SW, I guess they should install OK thru the remote disk thingy.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #9
    You will need the optical drive to load windows. You'll also need to purchase a remote for front row.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #10
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307310

    MacBook Air: USB optical drive required for installing Boot Camp

    Last Modified on: January 29, 2008

    Article: 307310

    MacBook Air requires a USB optical drive for the installation of Microsoft Windows XP SP2 (Service Pack 2) or Microsoft Windows Vista (32-bit versions only). The Remote Disc sharing software included with the MacBook Air cannot be used to install Microsoft Windows. Be sure to connect your external USB optical drive to your MacBook Air before starting the Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Akashi, Japan
    #11
    Thanks for the info Jimmie, but [grumble...]. Wonder if making a disk image of the XP disk, moving the disk into the MBA, and then using that to install would work? Would be very annoying if just installing software required new hardware...
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Salt Lake, Utah
    #12
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #13
    If you're going to spend $99 on a superdrive just for this, you might consider just buying vmware fusion or parallels and setting up a skinny virtual image on another mac, assuming you have one and you don't want the pure bootcamp experience. That's what I'll be doing.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #14
    I've been using the Fujitsu Lifebook P7010D for two years. It has a removable
    DVD player. You can either put in a second battery or put a cover over the bay.

    Once you get used to not having the optical drive, you start to wonder why did I drag it and all of the disks on a trip? Many times they would just stay in my luggage.

    And I never had to do that dreaded reinstall of XP...
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #15
    To clarify, you don't need to "install" Windows on your MBA if you are using Parallels or VMWare (not Bootcamp). You can create a Windows image on another computer and copy it over to use on the MBA.

    I rarely need Windows on the road, so I am going to test using a larger flash drive (32gb) and run Windows from there. That way I'm not taking up much disk space.
     
  16. jjd
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #16
    Can you let us know whether you have any success with this? That is if you are talking about trying to boot into windows from the flash drive (I have heard not easy to boot XP from an external drive). If you are going the virtual machine route then that should work I imagine.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #17
    Q1) You mean you need another Mac to install Parallels or VMWare on the MBA? I thought that Parallels or VMWare can be installed via remote disk (even from a Windows PC) on the MBA and hence also the respective WinXP image to be used by Parallels or VMWare... :eek:

    Q2) Anybody knows if a non superdrive will work on the MBA? I have an ordinary external optical drive with USB and would need it only for installing. Thought I may give it a try before spending 99USD for nothing purposes :cool:
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #18
    Q1: you don't need another mac.. what the other person was suggesting is you can make a cd image of windows from another computer.. eg. iso, bin,dmg etc etc once you made this you can simply copy it over via wireless or via external drive and install parallels or vmware using that image

    as for the remote disc i'm not too sure if you can use it to install windows.. i dont' see why not as it will just read the disc as data but never know

    Q2: any external optical drive will work on the macbook air as long as it's compatible with osx
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #19
    Thanks aiongiant, well appreciated!
     
  20. macrumors regular

    kkrull

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    #20
    Windows x64 ?

    I am curious as to whether this infers that the MBA EFI will not load a 64 bit version of Windows or whether MBA boot camp simply doesn't have all the 64 bit drivers and is therefore unsupported. Any guess? Anyone tried?

     
  21. Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    i wonder if you would need a second M$ vista/xp license if running windows on two machines? :rolleyes:
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #22
    Yes.

    But not like the check.
     
  23. dwc
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #23
    I rarely need Windows on the road, so I am going to test using a larger flash drive (32gb) and run Windows from there. That way I'm not taking up much disk space.[/QUOTE]



    Let us know about loading & using Windows from flash drive.

    I also would be interested in this.


    Thanks!
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #24
    How do you do that? I am going to get an MBA and want to run Windows via Fusion. I already own a PC.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    kkrull

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    #25
    0 for 1

    Ok so I tried and got stuck but there are several reasons why this might not have worked, the biggest being that I used the new partition as the install source...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=428734

    Has anyone else tried?

     

Share This Page