Bootcamp - set default OS?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Syndacate, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #1
    Hey,

    When I first started using bootcamp I had Vista installed and bootcamp booted the way it should, which if I was in Vista would continue to boot in Vista unless I held alt on boot and changed it, and vice versa - if was in OS X, would continue to stay in OS X through reboots unless I changed it by holding alt on boot.

    But now it changed. I formatted my Vista partition and put XP back on it. Now it keeps defaulting to XP when I'm in OS X, and vice versa. How do I change it back to normal?

    I have mac OS X set to reboot into OS X and XP set to reboot into XP in the system preferences and control panel respectively - in the boot camp options pane.

    Any ideas on how to get it back to normal?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    if you want to default boot into OSX, set it as OSX in OSX or Windows (Doesn't matter where) and reboot. Don't change it for both OS, just do it for one.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #3
    Yeah that's what I did - but it's "sticking" :(
     
  4. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    i would try setting the default boot disk in OS X before Windows.

    if it isnt sticking try resetting your PRAM by holding "command-option-P-R" on startup until you hear a second, loud "DONG!".
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #5
    Hrm, I thought PRAM was just a thing of the past, I remember it was important to know on the old macs.

    Alright, I'll try it and let get back with ya how it worked out.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #6
    I tried resetting the PRAM to no avail.

    When I originally dual booted with boot camp it was cyclical - whenever I rebooted from OS X it would reboot into OS X. And likewise whenever I was in Vista and rebooted it'd reboot into Vista.

    Now it's whatever I set it as (vista or OS X) in the preferences - and it always boots into that OS unless I hold alt/option to change it.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    From what you're describing, you're confusing yourself.

    Here's what I have. I have OSX as default startup OS:

    If I turn on the computer --> OSX
    If I reboot in OSX --> OSX
    If I reboot in Windows --> OSX

    In order for me to get to windows, i'd hold Alt/Option during boot.

    If I set Windows as default startup OS:

    If I turn on the computer --> Windows
    If I reboot in OSX --> Windows
    If I reboot in windows --> Windows
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, I know what it does.

    I think you're simply confusing what I want with the settings available.

    I have done before:
    Reboot from Windows >> Windows
    Reboot from OSX >> OS X

    Shutdown start from Windows >> Windows
    Shutdown start from OS X >> OS X

    I cannot figure out how to do that again.

    Before, it would reboot into the last OS I was in unless I held alt to bring up the option menu.

    I just installed rEFIt so it asks me every time now.

    Thanks for everybody's help who posted, I'm not sure how to set it back up the way I had it before - but the problem was circumvented with rEFIt, thanks anyways.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    I have never seen that method of start/restarts ever on a intel mac w/ boot camp. I'd like to see if anyone else have used this method before? This is news to me.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #10
    That's how it works by default with Vista - or at least did for me.

    My friend could vouch for that - he told me that's how it would work...and that's how it worked.

    Whenever (either in win or OS X) you change a boot camp default boot it stops that though, and I can't figure out how to get it back. The reason why I didn't have it here was because i never erased the 2nd partition - just formatted it and put XP on it.

    EDIT:
    Though like I said, rEFIt pretty much solved this problem. It's sort of like GRUB or LILO for mac.
     

Share This Page