Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Legacy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 27, 2005
London
Vert excited to own a 12" G4. When I purchased an iBook as my first Apple laptop, I had my heart set on this baby, but couldn't afford it at the time (I was a first year university undergrad).

The machine comes with everything original (including box, cables, CDs and a Neoprene sleeve and Apple Pro mouse). I believe the specs are:

1.33Ghz G4/256Mb RAM/60GB/Combo.

I will probably want to upgrade to 1,25GB RAM and I am looking into the possibility of a faster and/or larger HDD (perhaps 64Gb SSD), but I am unsure about what to expect in terms of speed increase on boot up times/ responsiveness.

Also, as I previously investigated, the machine does not have two finger scroll. Which version of iScroll would people recommend?

The machine comes with Panther, I believe.

What would people recommend I should do, to get the best out of the machine?

Many thanks in advance!

keysersoze

macrumors 68000
Jan 6, 2004
NH
I'm sitting here with that exact machine. Max the RAM for sure. PATA SSD's are expensive I think, but let me know if you come across good options... all I know are the ones on Macsales.com.

http://eshop.macsales.com/search/pata+ssd

A good second option is a 7200rpm drive...cheaper for sure. Taking the 12 incher apart can be a bit challenging. Check ifixit.com for how to install a new hard drive if you want good instructions.

How's the display? Mine's pretty dim at first boot, but brightens up after about 5 minutes. Some people have replaced the CCFL backlight but it sounds like an absolute nightmare to do.

I am running 10.5.8 which works just fine. I was stuck at 10.3 when I first got it, which was lousy because it didn't seem to want to play nice with modern web browsers.

Last edited:

Legacy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 27, 2005
London