bought a used iPhone 4S from craigslist

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brokenwindow, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. brokenwindow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #1
    Hello guys, I recently bought a bad esn Sprint iPhone 4S off craigslist. I restored the phone back to factory setting but I noticed that the number of the previous owner is still there in the 4S info on iTunes. Is there anyway of removing this number?
     
  2. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #3
    The sim slot is empty. Sprint is CDMA so it doesn't need sim card.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Correct.
    But the sprint 4S does come with a sim to roam outside the US on partner GSM networks. That's where I thought that itunes was pulling the phone number from.
     
  4. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #5
    You mentioned that it was a bad ESN. Could be wrong but it probably means the line has unpaid fees, therefore the phone isn't cleared = bad esn. I think that's how CDMA iPhone works. I purposely bought a bad esn one (Verizon) to have someone flash it before. The previous number was stuck until I actually flashed.
     
  5. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #6

    Thanks for the replies, is there any way to flash the phone for free unjailbrokened?
     
  6. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #7
    Yeah, there's nothing there. ):

    ----------

    Oh I see. I didn't know that, sorry.
     
  7. clifford84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #8
    bad esn?

    as good as ipod now, are you going to get your money back?
     
  8. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
  9. MuddyPaws1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #10
    Man we hear about this all the time. Not to beat you up too much but when are people going to start checking ESN's before they buy crap?
     
  10. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  11. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
  12. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #13
    Why would you purposefully buy a phone with a bad ESN?
    With Sprint (and Verizon), you're at the mercy of the carrier as to whether or not they'll activate any particular phone on your service.
    Have you called Sprint to see if there's a problem setting up this phone on your account?
     
  13. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #14
    You can never setup a phone with bad esn. Never. The carrier won't do it.
     
  14. brokenwindow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    #15
    I'm going to unlock it if I can using gevey or gpp sims because I have AT&T. I just want to get rid of this number that's tied to this phone and I was wondering if I can do it.
     
  15. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #16
    Depends on the reason the ESN is "bad."
    If it's due to delinquency on the original owner's account, there may be ways around that. If it's due to the phone being reported stolen, then no...

    But generally, you're right. Stay away, far away, from phones with a bad ESN.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Once you restore and use a gevey assuming it will work with the latest baseband version then the number will go away and be replaced with your sims phone number.
    Untill then you cant remove it.
     
  17. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #18
    What I meant was only the account holder can do this. You can't buy a phone that the esn has been blocked and use it. The carrier will not do this for you.
     

Share This Page