*bought it* Finally going to get a New Notebook - but dont know what to get

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Zimmy, Jan 10, 2007.

1. Zimmy macrumors member

Jul 19, 2005
    Hey guy just bought my new C2D "blackbook" this weekend just got the standard specs, planning to upgrade to 2gb ram soon..

compared to my old 887mhz g4 this is amazingly fast!!!!

thanks to all those that helped :D

Hey everyone need a lil help, long time reader but dont post much..

well i got a 12" powerbook G4, 887Mhz, 640Mb RAM, (Rev A) and well i have had it years and it has been a good work horse for me love it to bits. but recently its not keeping up with me.

so have decided instead of selling it, give the laptop to my dad, he rarely users his Desktop PC, but think he will use the powerbook more once he see's how easier it is.

so in about 3weeks i will be mac'less so to speak and now comes the dilema, i am a HE student and i know i can get a good deal form the HE store, been looking at the refurb(UK) store too.

i got a budget about £1000 and i am looking for something that will last me a while and be good buy basically.

i have a few thoughts on the refurb store:

Refurb MacBook Pro 15.4" Core Duo 2.16GHz /1GB /100GB /SD /AP /BT -
    Your price: £999.00

go for the Refurb MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo/1GB /120GB /SD /AP /BT
    Your price: £1,149.00

from the above two how will much more performance will i get with the C2D? is the extra 150 worth it? i would like to upgrade to 2gb, getting the C2D upgrading to 2Gb will be at least another 100 pounds so is it better to get the
    CD and have 2GB for the sane price as the C2D?

or go for a the Refurb MacBook black/ 2GHz Intel Core Duo/ 512MB/ 80GB/ SD/ BT/ AE
    Your price: £749.00

or the HE store C2D version for around £850 i think, and upgrade to 2GB ram?

i am really sorry for all the questions just a bit lost on what to get, just need some advice.

2. crdean1 macrumors 6502a

Feb 14, 2005