Bought Itouch on Ebay

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by vol4, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #1
    They didn't change/delete anything on it. When i plug the USB cord that i bought up into my computer, i can't delete their songs or put mine on there. Any help?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    #2
    restore the firmware
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #3
    dont know how to do that. I'm new to this whole Apple thing. I've got Itunes, thats about it.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #4
    plug it in, wait for the ipod to show up on the sidebar in itunes, click on it. Then you'll see a button next to update that says restore, click on that and hit yes or ok. Then it will download the firmware (which will take a while since it's really big) and it will restore it for you. Good as new! let me know if you need anymore help.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #5
    when i plug the touch up, and i open itunes, a box comes up and says Itunes has detacted that this is not the default audio player. Would you like to go to the Default Program control panel to fix this?..I do this, but it keeps coming up. Also, I dont see the touch show up on the side panel. Maybe I'm over looking it, but i dont think i am.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #6
    ok an easy way to do this without all of these problems is just doing a do a force restore.

    here's a video on how to do it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jzyy4puapig
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #7
    ok i did exactly what the video said, and its doing the thing on the screen, the only thing is, the box didnt come up for me to check to restore or not to.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #8
    hmm, seems as if either the usb cord is not working or the ipod itself is not working (the port for usb). If you have another usb cord, give that a try.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #9
    the USB should work, i just bought it and it charges the touch when plugged in. But as of right now, the picture on the screen is the same one in the video with the part that plugs into the touch, the arrow pointing up, and the Itunes symbol.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #10
    so if you unplug it and plug it back in (maybe in a different usb port) it doesn't say restore or recognize it at all? Are you using a mac or pc?
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #11
    no, nothing comes up. PC
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #12
    really weird, can you try another computer? trying to see whether it's the ipod or the computer.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #13
    it might actually be my laptop, because my Zune stopped working properly after a little bit. Let me try it, and ill get back to you. Thanks for the help so far!
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #14
    np, if it doesn't work on the other computer then I'll show you how to see how much warranty is left/how to send it in. Or if your near an apple store you can just take it in there and they'll take care of it for you. Try it on another computer first though.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #15
    alright, i got nothing from both computers. Same thing is goin on.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,649
    Location:
    das Fort
    #16
    Try installing the latest version of iTunes, and if you have that, try uninstalling/re-installing iTunes.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #17
    so, whats going on when the Touch has the plug in, the arrow and the itunes symbol on the screen?
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #18
    it's in restore mode, meaning it's ready to have a new firmware installed, after trying to reinstall itunes like IgnatiusTheKing said, go to https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do to see how much warranty you have left. Now either make an appointment at the genius bar if you have an apple store near you or request service online and they will send an empty box to your house, all you have to do is ship it back with the prepaid label. Good luck.

    Now that I think about it. This person on ebay probably knew this was a problem before sending it to you, you could try contacting him.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #19
    thank you very much. I appreciate the help. one more question...when im on safari...is there way to zoom in on what i'm looking at? everytime i try to click on something, i usually hit the wrong one.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #20
    if it's just text you can use the apple + or apple -.
     
  21. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,649
    Location:
    das Fort
    #21
    To zoom in do a sort-of "reverse pinch" where you put two fingers (most people use a thumb and index finger) together on the spot you want to zoom in on, then spread them apart. You can also tap twice quickly (with one finger) on the spot you wish to zoom in on.

    This site might help you with the iPhone/Ipod touch gestures.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #22
    I'm not positive on how to uninstall something, so could i just reinstall itunes again and it serve the same purpose?
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,649
    Location:
    das Fort
    #23
    On a PC, there is an Add or Remove Programs utility in the Control Panels. Just open it, select iTunes and tell it to remove it from your system. Then re-install.

    Google is your friend.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    #24
  25. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    #25

Share This Page