bought new airport extreme, is my mb c2d now wireless n?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by student_trap, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #1
    hey, just updated my computer and everything but am wondering if my computer is actually now using the 'n' type wireless? or do i have to buy that update online?
     
  2. AppleMan101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    #2
    apple never said they minded if you didn't pay for it...

    Yes you do need it and $2 really isn't that much.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    NO, you do not need to buy it. It comes with the Extreme, and should have been installed when you installed the Airport software. If you went through the install, you should have 'n' on the MacBook (assuming you installed it on the MacBook).

    Open Applications->Utilities->Network Utility, go to the Info tab, choose "Network interface (en1)", and look for 802.11a/b/g/n at the bottom.
     
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    There might be a separate installer on the disk too.
     
  5. logandzwon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #5
    when you install the disk it includes the n patch.
     
  6. student_trap thread starter macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #6

    thanks for this infomation. my macbook HAS been updated and is now wireless 'n'. thanks again for your help!
     

Share This Page