Brand new ram was bad!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dwl017, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. dwl017 macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #1
    Hey everyone thought I would post a quick note to let everyone know if you are getting Kernel Panics DO NOT RE-FORMAT your machine! the very first thing you should do is check your ram. I bought a new stick of generic 512mb ram this past Friday ran home and stuck in my Powermac G4 DP 1.25Ghz and bam! the Kernel panics started to fly! I ran a memory test and the test would not even run on the stick. I took the new stick out and have been in heaven ever since, not one Kernel panic or restart.

    Long story short yes brand new memory can be bad right out of the package no matter where it comes from.
     
  2. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #2
    And one should note that if they do an upgrade as such and things start acting up - then whatever the upgrade should be the first place troubleshot. That said, I would go with companies like OWC and Crucial when purchasing RAM.
     
  3. dwl017 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #3
    I learn my lesson its Cruical for me from now on! or OWC God only know's where some of this generic memory comes from or the damage it might do to your machine.
     
  4. mjgunn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #4
    Well, buying from Crucial is no guarantee, I got a bad stick from them for my MP last month, buuuuuut, the difference in support from a lesser known company should be the decider. I called them and told them I had been having kernel panics since I put the ram in, and I had 2 new sticks on my doorstop the next day.
     
  5. Locatel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
  6. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #6
    Just out of interest, did you use a earth strap?
     
  7. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #7
    Earth strap? LOL. You mean ESD strap, right.

    I had a stick of RAM go bad after 2 years and OWC just replaced it for free.
     
  8. comfycoxy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #8
    So you got a free stick of RAM? What size where they? Pretty cool if you did get a free stick of RAM for the old one being broken.
     
  9. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I love the revelations that spring forth from the lips of newbies. It makes me recall some of my early posts when I first switched.
     
  10. mjgunn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #10
    No, I did have to return the old ones :p

    And about the ESD strap, no, I did not use one, but I've been building and upgrading computers for 15 years without one without a problem, the chances of that being a cause are extremely slim.
     
  11. Paco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    Even Apple RAM is no guarantee. I recently had factory-installed RAM in a new (refurb) MBP cause application crashes and kernel panics. Had to have Apple replace it.
     
  12. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #12
    Same difference, it earth's you, :) but the question still remains. I've heard it so often people installing memory without one and it blows the memory. Thing is there's a difference using one and properly getting earthed, not just hooking the strap up to the case that I've heard so many people do.

    Yeah ram is ram. What I don't get is why is Apple's memory twice the price or more, just paying for the brand name?

    A compare, a 2GB DDR400 set from Crucial costs £115 as from apple the same kit will cost you £280. I'm glad I don't have a Mac Pro after seeing the prices of memory, 2GB for that is over £400 as 4GB is £1,010. Crazyness.
     
  13. princealfie macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #13
    What was the brand of the generic RAM?
     

Share This Page