Bridging DD-WRT Flashed WRT54GL to Airport Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Error Type -43, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. Error Type -43 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #1
    I have a collection of game consoles and other techy gadgets that I want to connect wirelessly to the internet via a bridge (WRT54GL) to my main access point (Airport Extreme, which is connected to my DSL modem). The WRT has already been re-flashed with DD-WRT. I just need to know the exact settings on both ends to make this happen. I'm sure someone here has done it with this exact setup, right? This stuff is a little too advanced for me.
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2

    you connecting them up wirelessly or wired?
     
  3. Error Type -43 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #3
    sorry, I should've offered a better explanation.

    The gaming consoles and etc will be wired to the WRT. From there, I want the WRT to bridge with the Aiport wirelessly and use its internet connection.
     
  4. ShiggyMiyamoto macrumors 6502a

    ShiggyMiyamoto

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Just outside Boston, MA.
    #4
    I have a similar dilemma. I have an ASUS WL-520GU that used to act as the main router, but it's really unstable. Also worth noting: the ASUS is running DD-WRT v24 sp1.

    I got my Airport Express back from my parents, and now I'd like to Client Bridge the AP Express with the ASUS (Airport Express = primary router).

    I have it setup properly, and I'm able to get online just fine, but I'm having problems getting devices to connect via the Ethernet ports on the ASUS, namely my old iBook-acting-as-server running Gentoo Linux. For whatever reason I can't get it to grab a DHCP lease.

    BTW, I have told the ASUS to join the Airport Express's network via Status ==> Wireless ==> Site Survey and Join.

    Thanks in advance,
    ShiggyMiyamoto


    EDIT: I got it working mostly, just two ports don't want to work.... port 80 and port 411

    Also, here's a sketch of my network setup:
    [​IMG]
    Free Image Hosting by ImageBam.com
     
  5. taoness macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #5
    Similar issue as well :\

    I have a similar issue as well, running an Airport extreme as the main distribution router and (in hopes of) the Linksys wrt54g2 running dd-wrt23 providing access for my gaming consoles; primarily, my xbox360.

    Previously, I had two wrt54g's running this setup, however I had to move them out of range, which is when i swapped the airport for the main rtr.

    I found the linksys won't support WDS with the airport, due to compatibility issues and I am unable to get this appliances to communicate over a standard client-bridge setup :\. Most attempts have been with WEP encryption, but i'm thinking about trying it again without, to see if there is some type of conflict.
     
  6. ShiggyMiyamoto macrumors 6502a

    ShiggyMiyamoto

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Just outside Boston, MA.
    #6
    Yeah that really sucks. Since I started to setup such a setup, I decided to just use the ASUS in the diagram above as the main router again, and I have the Airport Express acting as a repeater (non WDS, just simply had it join the existing network) and I set a WPA2 Personal password. All is well and it works really well. (knock on wood)
     

Share This Page