Brightness on 2nd display

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by robotrenegade, May 10, 2005.

  1. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #1
    How do I play with the brightness on the 2nd display?
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    If it's not an Apple monitor, it may have brightness controls through the On Screen Display. Just read the manual for what the buttons on the front do! Hope that helps. :)
     
  3. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #3
    It's a 17inch apple display.
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Hmmmm. Sorry then, I've never tried that and I don't have one to try it one. I know on my iBook, if I mirror the display, my controls on the keyboard control both monitors, which is very annoying.
     
  5. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    Since the older Apple displays don't have brightness adjustments on the display itself, the only way I know of to change it's brightness is to go into System Preferences > Displays and change it there.
     
  6. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #6
    It shows the brightness for the main screen but not the 2nd.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Try making the 2nd screen the primary display temporarily. Just drag the menu bar over in Display prefs.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #8
    lol, I just tried that. No luck.
     
  9. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #9
    I called apple to tell them about this problem and they told me its because of my Apple DVI to ADC Display Adapter??? Saying with 10.4 its not supported! :mad:

    This is how I fixed the problem.
    -Shutdown
    -Just hooked in the 17inch alone.
    -Open the displays menu and set the brightness.
    -Then re-hooked everything the way it was.
    -Booted up
    -It work!
     

Share This Page