Bringing in Logo to AI

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Espnetboy3, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #1
    Im creating a Tri fold (What fun) and I have finished the layout and text. There are a few logos to bring into it. When I open the file pic and bring it in there is a white box around it. I have went into photoshop to save it with transparency but no luck when I Bring it to AI. The wand tool also in AI isnt selecting the white so i can just delete it. How do I go about bringing in pics and logos? Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    You're making the tri-fold in Illustrator? I'm asking because it's not ideal, but if it needs to be done, it needs to be done, so I just wanted to make sure. :)

    Also, what kind of files are you trying to bring in? Have you tried native photoshop files?

    Do you have vector copies of your logos? You *should*, of course, be using those if at all possible.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Why isn't making a tri-fold in Ill ideal? I make all print stuff in Illustrator? What would you use?
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    It is less than ideal for a couple of reasons, the first of which is that you can't have more than one page in a single Illustrator document. (I'm using CS2, perhaps that has changed in CS3.)

    A page-layout application should be used. I use InDesign. But Quark could also be used.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    JasonElise1983

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Between a rock and a midget
    #5
    yeah, i have to agree. Illustrator isn't the best tool for this, but it will work. Illustrator just isn't set up for these kinds of things. It's more designed for...illustration. Where as InDesign/QuarkXpress is designed for page layout. To each his own, but to me, designing something in Illustrator is like laying it out in Photoshop...it just doesn't make sense.

    As for the logos, open them up in Photoshop. Double click the "background" layer to make it a normal layer. Select the white space and delete it. Save as PSD. Place in Illustrator.

    I will also say, that you should be using Vector logos, ie. .eps or .ai files, but if you don't have them, then you don't have them.

    -JE

    EDIT: no, CS3 did not ad multiple pages to Illustrator
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #6
    Im going to try that later. Hope it works , thanks. Basically the psd will hold transparency so AI will see it. I know TIFF holds transparency but AI doesnt use TIFFs.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Ditto ...

    Indesign, et al is for page layout

    Illustrator is for creating vector artwork, logos, etc.

    Photoshop is for photo manipulation and the like.

    Word is for filling disk space :p

    Sometimes I'll break the rules a little an use PS to create a poster or something, but only if the effects and techniques I'm using can't easily be replicated in InDesign.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Hrm,
    I always assumed those programs were for page layouts, books, publishing, etc. Regardless, I create Everything from brochures to postcards in Illustrator on a regular basis. :D
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #9
    How great would it be for photoshop to become vector based too. Anyways that worked bringing it in as a psd I do have my transparency. Thanks again
     

Share This Page