Bringing my Mac to Europe

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by andolues, May 16, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    #1
    I am studying in England next year, and I was wondering if their different circut system will damage my powerbook (g4, running on tiger).

    Also, any suggestions on electronic convertors(ers?)?

    Cheers,
    David.
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,941
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    Nope will all be fine, your Powerbook will switch voltage. Just get a UK adaptor for your US plug.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    ScubaDuc

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    You only need a plug converter....The british plugs will render any attempt at miniaturization useless, by the way... :rolleyes:

    I am sure you will find out soon enough...
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    #4
    go to apple.com and look at the specs for your power adapter... it says roughly 110-220 volts AC, all you need is to get a diffrent plug for the adapter, you can get them online or probably at any apple store.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    javiercr

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    London
    #5
    you don't need it

    you only need a plug, there isn't 'different circuit system' just different voltages, all laptops of all brands i've seen can take both american and european voltage. My powerbook is american and i live in the UK, the only problem is that it doesn't have a pound or euro symbol in the keyboard :rolleyes:
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,391
    #6
    I am also heading over to the U.K. this October for school. I already knew the answer to the plug issue but have another question: What is the best way to bring a desktop... or simply "don't"?
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,941
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    'Don't' sounds pretty good. Seriously? Decent shipping crates and FedExing/UPSing it over - then you'll need step-down power convertors at this end to convert the 240v UK current to your desktop's 110v (presumably) unless it has a autoswitching power supply (some do).

    I'd be going for the convertor with the fuse/heat/power surge protection if it was something pricey like a computer.
     
  8. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #8
    what type of desktop are we talking about? i can take my desktop hand luggage (g4 cube) but i doubt you would get away with a powermac,

    dont pay for apples extortionate world travel pack, it's a fig 8 plug you can pick them up at any decent store (dixons maplins ect).
     

Share This Page