British Dictionary / How to get Thesauras?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by netdog, Aug 29, 2006.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi All,

    Two somewhat related issues.

    How can I get my Dictionary to use British spellings?

    How on earth do I get to the Thesaurus in Dictionary?

    Help!!!!
     
  2. iVersa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I just simply opened up dictionary, went to preferences and it was there. Could you not at least have tried that before posting?

    Once youve entered your word, scroll down - its a thesaurus too.

    ;)
     
  3. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    LOL. Of course I tried that. I have selected that, but my dictionaries are both American (even the Oxford) and my Cocao-driven documents all see British spellings as incorrect. It is making me crazy.
     
  4. calculus Guest

    calculus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #4
    Well... just looked at mine for the first time and it's the same as yours. Help!
     
  5. powerdave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    Hamburg
    #5
    What about the general dictionary that spellchecks applications like iChat (or Adium) and other things like that? I'm tired of things being underlined in red! All my regional prefs are set for my language and region.
     
  6. calculus Guest

    calculus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    #6
    What's up apple - are you trying to tellus brits something!
     
  7. Brize macrumors 6502a

    Brize

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    You should be able to set a system-wide language preference from within any application that has spell-check capabilities. Go to Edit > Spelling and use the drop-down menu to select British English.
     
  8. powerdave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    Hamburg
    #8
    Hahahahahaa! Brilliant!
    I've only had my Powerbook for two and a half years :eek:. Thanks for that :D
     
  9. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Can anyone suggest such a program? I have tried Pages, TextEdit, Word and Mail with no luck.

    EDIT: Scratch that. I was looking in preferences. When I actually decided to READ your helpful post, I got it all sorted. Many thanks.
     
  10. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #10
    I would appreciate help on how to get this to work on tiger...


    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

    Wait! I lied...


    Sorry for the bump.
     
  11. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #11
    Go to any application that has Spelling under the Edit menu. Select Spelling... In the dialog box that comes up there is a drop down menu at the bottom labeled Dictionary. Select whatever version of English you prefer from here. The change will show up everywhere. Best wishes.
     
  12. rob.rees@mac.co macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #12
    How do I get the built-in spell checker to underline incorrectly spelled words in Safari?
     
  13. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #13
    Same basic principle as outlined above for changing language.

    Go into Safari to a page which has a text input and click in it.

    Then go up to Edit>Spelling>Check Spelling as You Type
     
  14. rob.rees@mac.co macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    London
  15. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    I can't for the life of me get Pages to use the British dictionary. Help!
     

Share This Page