broadband speed problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hikkadwa, May 30, 2006.

  1. Hikkadwa macrumors member

    Hikkadwa

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Location:
    wild west wales uk
    #1
    own a mac intel 2ghz. Have a wireless Belkin 54G router. Just upgraded from 2mb to 8mb speed with btbroadband however the spped is poor generally about 1.2mb. BT tell me my line is fine and that it must be a problem with either my Belkin being unable to cope with *mb speed or the firewall on my Mac. At the moment I don't have one but BT tell me the machine will have one built in? not really sure if they're trying to have one over on me, any suggestions???
     
  2. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #2
    Where are you getting the 1.2mb reading from?

    As for the Firewall, there is the built-in one on Mac OS X, also there will be one on your router
     
  3. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #3
    Sounds like the standard issue response: "Oh it must be something to do with your Mac" (because we don't know anything about them).

    The Firewall settings can be found under Apple menu > System Preferences > Sharing > Firewall but AFAIK it wouldn't be having any significant effect on your broadband speed and is nothing to do with it.

    It's possible that it's your router, it might be a "b" wireless device (is it old or was it really cheap?) only capable of 11 Mb/s (which is about the speed you're getting - 8Mb=1MB - if my calculations are correct, which they might not be..) as opposed to a "g" (54Mb/s) or "super-g" (108Mb/s). Airport Extreme will only go at "g" speed (54Mb/s=6.75MB/s).

    Or it could well be them and they're just fobbing you off with techno-babble in the hope that you'll assume it's your problem and go away.
     
  4. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Your computer comes with a firewall built into osx - under system preferences > sharing > firewall - it's probably off by default, but check. Personally, I leave mine on all the time, and it's never seemed to affect my broadband speed.
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    How did you measure the data rate?

    One way to figure ths out is to eliminate the Belkin router. Connect the mac directly to the cable or DSL modem. If the data rate then go up to spec you have found the problem.

    It could very likely be that whatever computer you are connecting to at the far end will not sed you data faster then what you see.. Perhaps it connects to the Internet using a T1 line. 1.2MBPS would be about right.

    Also, note the the 8Mb spec quoted toyuou is the _peak_ data rate. You will not be able to see 8Mbps averaged over a long period
     
  6. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    The other thing to note of course is that 8mb is the 'ideal speed', but that it will often be lower depending on how far you are from the exchange, and how many other people are online at the same time in your area (you share your broadband allocation at the exchange with up to 50 other households).

    However, I'm not sure that all modems support broadband signals in excess of 2mb, so you might wanna check the belkin website for specs.
     
  7. Macer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    #7
  8. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #8
    Be sure that you are not getting Megabytes mixed up with Megabits

    An 8 Megabit connection is able to download at around 1 Megabyte/second

    This is why I was wondering where you where reading the speed from
     
  9. lonepilgrim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
  10. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #10
    you lucky devil for getting 8mb (maybe) outta BT , i'm stuck at 1mb :(

    BT normaly fob me off and then maybe cut me off every time i phone up and complain about speed issues.

    rest assured it's not Mac OS firewall thats the issue , nor i would doubt it to be your Belkin router either - try rebooting your BT modem
     
  11. FragTek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #11
    Also remember that you're on a shared node so your speeds may vary throughout the day depending on the amount of traffic on your part of the network. It's likely to be more crowded in the evening time than early on in the morning, mid-day, and super late at night.
     
  12. Hikkadwa thread starter macrumors member

    Hikkadwa

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Location:
    wild west wales uk
    #12
    Thank you

    many thanks for all your suggestions. However still a very slow speed. Latest trest as instructed by someone in India was to plug direct into Bt socket at point of entry eliminating all other extensions, lines. Result no difference. Belkin tell me it cannot be their router.
     

Share This Page